This land no longer made for you and me

Well this sucks. Get ready for the rising crime that comes with a lack of access to women’s health and bodily autonomy.


I protested starting in my 20’s. I’ve donated thousands to abortion rights causes. I’ve voted in every election since 1988 — all of them, state and local and off year and special and you name it. I voted by mail when I lived in Germany. I wrote post cards to voters I knocked on doors. I donated to candidates and it was not enough. I did more than most and it was not enough and it kind of doesn’t matter because between disenfranchisement and apathy, nothing ever changes.


Or at least that’s how I feel today. This land is their land.


I’ll be fine. I have resources and can move out of the country before they come for the LGBTQ. And they will. You’ll see. We live in a minority rule theocratic fascist state. Doesn’t matter who is the president. Doesn’t matter who controls the house or the senate. Not now. They get everything they want, every time. Don’t believe me? Did your kid participate in an active shooter drill recently? Is Trump still walking around free after inciting an attack on the U.S. Government?


Okay that’s as much wallowing as I’m doing here today. It’s my diary, fuck it. I’ll say what I want. Maybe a month from now I’ll be singing a different tune. These entries aren’t etched into stone tablets. I hope in a month I’m ready to knock on doors, write post cards to voters, pester my friends and family. In the meantime I’ll be practicing my Spanish for when I have to move to Uruguay.

Log in to write a note
June 25, 2022

It’s sad times. <3

June 26, 2022

Este es muy malo.  I hate what’s happening to our country.  I have a British friend who is married to an American, and they are moving here to California from living in the UK.  In my opinion, they should stay there.

Ugh.  La Vida.