2 / 26 / 2019

Did a twelve hour shift today.
 
At the end, a friend and coworker went through a episode at work where it seemed pretty apparent she was gonna harm herself if I didn’t intervene. So I did. I moved a box cutter off the desk she was sitting at and pocketed it, and I held her and helped her do breathing exercises with me until her family could pick her up.
 
After I left from work, I realized I didn’t see who had picked her up, and I panicked. I didn’t know if she had in fact been picked up by her family or if she had attempted to drive herself home in that dangerous frame of mind she was in.
 
So I returned back to work because I hadn’t been able to reach her over the phone.
 
I found her car in the parking lot without her. That meant someone had picked her up, and I felt some relief. She sent me a text later that evening. She was alive. And that’s what mattered.
 
That’s what matters.
Log in to write a note
February 27, 2019

Scary!  It’s hard to keep everything straight as you can in situations like that.  Sounds like you did well though!

February 27, 2019

you did a good thing 🙂