Gallipoli

ANZAC Day in Gallipoli is something that every Aussie and Kiwi should do.  Even if they didn’t have relatives fighting for Aus or NZ, it is such a part of our history, how can it be ignored.

Istanbul is a real shit hole.  The men are sleazy and dirty, they treat thier women like property, and don’t get me started on Islamic traditions.  I’m no feminist, but why should women be treated as second class citizens?  Walking down the street is an effort, every few feet you are accosted by as stall holder pestering you to buy some of his wares.  Do I look like a want to buy a carpet?  I’m a backpacker… where will I keep it? Ah, but for a few extra Lira, he can send it to Australia free of charge.  Yeah, sure.  I bet that carpet never leaves his shop!  And yes, I am a girl, I am travelling with another girl.  You may be a man, and have a friend, but that doesn’t mean I want to go out with you tonight.

I blame Hollywood, for portraying women as objects.  These Eastern men are so used to having down-trodden women (through their own fault) that when a Western women comes along they turn in to sex-crazed arseholes.  But blech!  They are smelly revolting men. 

After a crowd of 25,000 last year at ANZAC Day,  this year there was only 6,000.  But they were tougher on alcohol this year, and that’s probably why.  We all know how much us antipodeans like our grog!  Apparantly it was left in a mess last year, a disgrace to Australians.  There were bag checks, and alcohol was being confiscated.  Of course, there was still plenty of grog that made it though, but there were no shenanigans that I could see.

Fell alseep at the beginning of the Dawn Service, but was awake for the bits that count, and then up at Lone Pine for the National Service, it was so wonderful in the sun that I think I may have given myself a bit of sunstroke.  Got a lovely tan out of it though.  I was ashamed of our National Service this year.  They had some choir there, but their singing was atrocious.  I could sing better than that, and anyone who knows me knows I can’t sing for shit!

I’m not religious at all, so most of it meant diddly squat to me, but I wasn’t there for a religious service, I was there for my Grandpa.  He never fought for Australia, let alone at Gallipoli, but he would get up every year and go into the city for the Dawn Service, and then when he was no longer able to leave the house he would watch it on television.  He’s been gone nearly 2 years now, and I miss him terribly.  Love you lots Jimmy. xxx.

 

 

Log in to write a note