And then there was 3

Found out that one of my friends that was murdered by her boyfriend this past weekend used to write here.  She was the mother of my daughter’s boyfriend.  Wish I had gotten to know her better while she was alive.  But, she was only 35……. how would I have ever guessed that she just would be gone at such a young age.  I know she was a beautiful spirit who loved her children more than anything else in this world.  Now, I  am raising her son.  She did a wonderful job for the 17 years she was in his life.  He is a smart, sensitive loving young man.  I am so proud of him.  He is so good to my daughter.  My heart breaks for him.  His Dad hasn’t been in his life either.  And it’s so heartbreaking to know that he doesn’t have any parents now.  He has me.  He will always have me….regardless.  He deserves so much from this life than he has recieved.  He is one of my best friends and favorite people in this world.  I knew there was something special about him the day I met him.  We almost instantly had a bond.  Even when he and my daughter broke up last year for a bit, we remained friends.  And even though it was hard to see him pursue relationships that was not with my daughter during that time, I was still there for him, offering advice….etc.  He knew I wanted them back together but he wasn’t ready at the time.  Can’t blame him, he was 16……and wanted to sow his “wild oats” for a while.  But, on New Years of this year, they both decided that being friends was just not cutting it anymore and to my delight, got back together.  They have been together since then…..and I hope ONE day (their both still teenagers…LOL) that he will become my son-in-law.  Steph wished the same thing…….she knew how much my daughter loved him and the good impression she had on him and the positive changes he made with them together.   He is my daughter’s first love and well, we all can remember what a first love feels like and how there’s nothing like that first love and what you won’t do for them.  But, I promise I am going to make sure I raise him to be what she would want and be proud of.  I know I can never replace her or her love (nor would I ever want to) but I can be that rock he needs….and I can keep him on the straight and narrow.  She loved her first born baby boy….she loved all her children.  And I’m just soooooo sad that they don’t have her in their lives anymore.  She always worked so hard to provide for them and make sure they had what they needed.  It’s just not fair and life isn’t nor ever promised to be fair….but kids shouldn’t have to learn about life’s fairness or lack there of this early…….  Rest in peace beautiful lady…….you don’t have to worry about your babies.  They are loved…..

Log in to write a note
November 9, 2018

How heartbreaking, but how awesome of you to step up for this boy. Much love to all of you.

November 12, 2018

It’s nice that you feel that you can be that way for him. Welcome to Open Diary!

November 12, 2018

Wow. First welcome to Open Diary. Second, this is so sad but its wonderful that you are stepping up to be there for him. Looking forward to reading more! Feel free to friend me 🙂

November 13, 2018

I am so so sorry…..but at least she still lives on threw her son….I bet everything she is and was he is and will be.  Just one question? Do you have to inform his dad that you are going to adopt him and get his permission because he is still a minor?

November 18, 2018

That’s horrible about your friend. I’m glad that you’re taking the pains to raise him in the way that his mother would want. I’m ten years older than him and I recently lost my mother, it’s semi hard, even though we weren’t close… but I’m glad to have my boyfriend’s mother in my life, and that he has someone like you in dealing with his grief.