Small update

 Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve updated. I guess Facebook is just that good. I’ve read all your entries, but I just don’t get around to writing.

I tried a silly garden experiment. About 8 weeks ago I got 4 bags of topsoil and put it on a set of shelving I that I brought out into the middle of the sunny yard from our garage. I cut some slits in the top of it and planted swiss chard, lettuce, and mixed salad greens. About half of it grew, but even when it reached full size it was bitter, bitter, bitter. I couldn’t eat it. The chard didn’t grow at all. Oh well. I may try again this fall or early next spring.

As I type this I am also recording. I bought a Pyle sound system. It plays records very nicely. Not quite as nice as the $200 quadraphonic stereo we got for a wedding gift from my in-laws when we married. But, it only cost $160. It also plays cassettes and CDs. It will play music from my iPod touch or other music player. Best of all, and the reason we really got it is that it records to a USB flash drive. I am putting Oklahoma the musical on the flash drive and it sounds fairly good when it gets to the computer. I am not sure how the naming will work as I will have to type the file names all in myself because it just saves them as file1, file2, file3 etc. There won’t be any artwork and I don’t know how to separate the files into albums, but even if they are just on the player as random files I will enjoy having them on my iPod and on my computer I can just save them in folders named after the albums.

I just found out that the phono arm even has some kind of device that even sets the needle back on the record just before were it was when you lift it and it drops it very softly automatically. Our old stereo didn’t do that. It sounds nice too.

I had a day off today. We have had a lot of those lately. I think I’ve only worked two days off on overtime in the last three months. We still work about 1.5 hours a day of overtime in the afternoons, but the real money was in that full 8 hours on a day off.

My dumb computer won’t let me access my own files for the past few weeks. Oh, I can access all the system files and those I don’t want. But, the "My Documents" "My Videos" and "My Pictures" folders all just say "access denied" when I try to see them. What a mess. Now I have to go figure THAT out!

The big news for my Summer is that I’m marrying Charles R. Actually, I also marrying Michelle P. They’ve both worked with me at the Post Office and her Dad is one of my close fellow carriers. I have a ceremony all written out and I’m now polishing it, looking for a perfect poem to share and making sure I get the details of who stands where and what comes in what order just right. It is fun and very rewarding.

Along the way, I am learning how others marry all over the world, and reading about New York voting to add thousands of new people to the marriage rolls by allowing gays to marry. I am still not in favor of it, but our political masters are determined to implement it and I will probably just have to go along. I just hope they don’t come to arrest those of us who still don’t support the homosexual lifestyle.

I joined a delightful group of 8-12 people who have coffee at McDonald’s every day and we all go out to eat at a different place every Wednesday night. It’s fun to have such a bunch.

I gotta go.

 

Log in to write a note
June 30, 2011

Thank you for finally updating! I do see you on FB, but this is just better. Your garden experiment sounds amusing. I wonder why they were bitter. Interesting.

Great to see an entry from you! That sound system “sounds like” a really interesting format – you can do anything with it! That’s great that you will be officiating at a special wedding and how about that coffee group? fun!

July 1, 2011

Only you would want to have Oklahoma on a flash drive.

July 3, 2011

I’ve been wanting to record my records to CD’s, but it seems that even doing that is behind the times. Your group sounds fun.

July 7, 2011

That coffee club sounds great—-now to convince our city commission to entice a fast food restaurant to our fair city. We’re lucky to even have a slow food restaurant!

July 10, 2011

ryn: if that’s true, why does shampoo get it out of your hair?

July 25, 2011

That coffee club sounds fun! Sorry your garden-stuff was bitter. I experimented some, too. since I don’t live on my acreage anymore, I planted tomatoes in pots. They’re doing OK, but the leaves seem pitiful. I tried arugula & table onions in flats. A storm killed the Arugula, but it was doing good before the storm. the onions are doing OK…we’ll see.

August 19, 2011

ryn: I’ve actually started doing that with internet orders. Instead of giving people a discount, I just put in a little “extra” something that they don’t expect. So far, it’s just been a relationship builder, but hopefully, they will start telling their friends.

August 23, 2011

ryn: OMG! If I had 50 regulars like that every week, I’d be DEAD by the end of the second week! If I had 50 like that who each came in once every 6 weeks, that would be about right.