Future Road Trip

             At the “HRD boys breakfast” Wednesday I was reminded again how whenever people of a certain age get together, the topic always gets around to health issues. I think I am the only one of the group not taking any kind of daily medications.

Except to say I was getting over the Flu, I did my best to downplay the fact I had been ill and not elaborate. Compared to how sick some people have been, I was very fortunate. I feel better and stronger every day.

Billy called yesterday afternoon to give me an update of the move. What a mess! The mover who is picking up this instrument was vacationing in Mexico with his family for a well deserved vacation. Due to the weather nightmare last week he was days late in returning home to Ohio. As things turned out, the nearest airport he could fly into to was in Michigan, requiring a rental to drive home. He has deliveries and work scheduled to do in VT, Long Island and CT. He is stopping by Statesville, NC to pick up Billy’s newest acquisition to deliver it on the way to Miami.

I have my cat sitter on call. I should have a two day window of departure to head to Statesville, NC. It is the back end of the trip I’m working on now. The 24 & 25th is the antique phonograph show in Orlando. I missed this show last year as that was when I was hit with the noro-virus. This is more of a social event for me. There is nothing I need to get. In fact I should have crap packed up to sell!!

My current dilemma has me back in time at the plant when Al and I would pretend to be “travel agents” and plan road trips using an ancient road atlas in the break room. We would plan such circuitous routes across the country for the most obscure reasons. We used to drive our co-workers crazy with our excursions! That is pretty much where I stand now.

How I enjoy planning my trips with Google maps. Rounded off, it is 500 miles from my house to Statesville, NC. It is another 500 miles from Statesville to Gainesville, FL. (Billy and I drive to the show from his house in Gainesville) From Gainesville, FL to Tuscaloosa<span style="font-famil

y: ‘Bookman Old Style’;”>, AL it is 450 miles. If I do this “circle route” I have some 1,450 miles under the tires.

I don’t like to be away from home that long, but it is insanity to me to return home for a day or two and then drive to Gainesville. Doing that would add nearly 500 miles and eight+ hours driving to the trip.

I just knew something like this would happen. We could have done this move so easily between XMAS and New Years, but Leroy was adamant in this transfer could only happen in January. That man is such a mess, I gave up on him years ago.

In the grand scheme of things I count myself fortunate this is pretty much my biggest problem in life at the present.

The weather continues cold, but the sun is shining bright and clear which lifts my spirits. Ever so slowly the days are getting longer.

It is hard to believe it was 12 years ago my old 1995 Dakota Pick-up was totaled out by a drunk driver as it was parked in front of my house. Then I go back 10 years to this time 2004 and reread the drama that was happening in my life at the factory and all. 

I was just about to post this entry and heard the mailman. There was a surprise waiting for me! My 2013 Concept 2 Winter Challenge pin was delivered! I can’t believe 2013 was my 5th challenge year.

Log in to write a note
January 17, 2014

We are having lovely weather here in this part of NC. Well, *I* think it is lovely. The temperature is 54 and there is a chilly little breeze and sunshine. Just my kind of weather. I look with interest at your map. I drive only locally these days…

January 17, 2014

i am of the firm belief that pill pushers are a health liability and the pills that are pushed shorten longevity and well being.

January 17, 2014

Congratulations on all five of those pins!

January 18, 2014
January 19, 2014

Continuing the shape pattern, next year’s button should be a round button.

January 20, 2014

Bravo….nice pin. Is someone else helping him also. Don’t do it by yourself.