Love and Loss

May 22nd of last year my grandpa passed away from a stroke… We buried him on May 24th just 2 days after his death… This was a major thing for me because up til this point I had never lost a loved one which I always considered a blessing considering I was 36 years old at the time…

363 days after my grandpa’s passing my grandma died from heart failure on May 20th (Monday of last week)… She literally died from a broken heart… My grandparents had been married for 58 years… She didn’t know how nor did she want to live in a world where he no longer was… Ironically we buried her on May 24th as well… Exactly 1 year after we buried him…

It’s been 9 days since she died and 5 days since we buried her… I am so lost… You see I was raised by my grandparents… There was no woman on this earth I was closer to or had a stronger bond with then my grandmother… She would simply need to think of me and I would call her… We always thought that was crazy but it just showed how strong our connection was… Now that she is gone…. I feel like a part of me is missing…

What is worse is it wasn’t a quick death for her like it was for my grandpa… She was on hospice for 6 months… For 6 months I had to watch the woman who was my heart and soul grow weaker… For 6 months I watched her fade away and suffer in pain… It was the longest 6 months months of my life…

I am grateful she is no longer suffering… I am grateful she is reunited with my grandpa… But I miss her so much it hurts me deep to my very core…

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2019

I have also lost all of my grandparents and I miss them every day and I often think I see them at different places and when I go by the streets where their homes were I think about them too.  I don’t think the feeling abandoned ever goes away the suffering that they had will never be so that is a good thing, but the loss still hurts I know……I am so so sorry for your losses.

June 12, 2019

@jaythesmartone thank you so much