Death of a Classmate and Recent Graduate

As I entered our school to pick up my grades and graduation pictures, and turn in my doctorate program application on July 12, 2007, a familiar name in an announcement caught my attention.  A former classmate and recent graduate had passed away from lung cancer on July 2, 2007.  He is survived by his teenage daughter.  There were flyers encouraging donations and informing about the funeral to be held on July 18 at 4:30 P.M.

The cancer victim was a great person.  He knew very much, and was a favorite among patients in clinic.  Many of us enjoyed working with him as well as watching him treat patients.  We also learned from him.

I knew he was married with children, but he never informed us about his lung cancer, or that he was a single parent.  Though he could be silly at times, he was friendly and social with us classmates.  I wish I had a chance to know him better.  I never got a chance to see or talk to him again since he graduated in March 2007.

Since I couldn’t attend the funeral of our professor’s son in May due to conflict with my clinic hours, I thought about attending this one, but it was scheduled at a bad time for me, and I also had a headache that day.  Besides, I knew the painful event will tear me apart.  I guess this is another sign of my being mean, rude, arrogant, and selfish.

Argh! Once again, why must life be so unfair! Why couldn’t the death be on someone evil, such as Bin Laden!
 

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2007

RN:i have asked that same question.

July 19, 2007

I think I know how you feel. There’s something about the death of a recent schoolmate that seems worse than other tragedies. A couple of years ago, my wife was notified that a law school classmate of hers had died, only about 30 years old. Frankly I hadn’t even liked the woman very much, but it hit me hard. I had spent some time with that group of law students. They all spent three years working on their law degrees, sharing their hopes, dreams, ambitions, and frustrations, looking forward to their lives and careers as lawyers, … and then only a few years later in her case, it was all for naught. My sincere sympathy.

July 23, 2007

Im so sorry. Why do the good ones die so young ?