Friends List Fears

During the week of May 16, 2011, I noticed that the number on my Facebook Friends List had fluctuated quite a bit, and I found out that quite a few people had taken me off their Friends Lists.  While I know that things like this happen, there are still some things that I have been afraid of for a long time.

My first fear is I have probably been taken off more Friends Lists than anyone in the world, and this includes Friends List from multiple online communities.  People are probably taken off only one or two Friends List, but I’ve been taken off many more.  I don’t think anyone has ever been taken off more than five Friends Lists.  This means people would not be taken off Friends Lists more than 10 times, and 20 times or more would be impossible.  All this makes me feel alone because I’m the only one in the world who has taken off Friends Lists at least 10 times, which shows that I’m the worst or most deviant person in the world.

That fear is related to my other fear.  Once someone takes me off their Friends List, others might do the same, usually by clique influence, peer pressure, or just following.  I’m afraid that more and more people will follow in taking me off, and I will soon be on no one’s Friends List, and no one will be on my Friends Lists.  I’m sorry if I’m falsely accusing you of it.  I don’t mean to, but I’ve been looked down upon and rejected a lot, and bad influences are powerful.

Log in to write a note
May 24, 2011

Try not to worry too much about it. It isn’t the end of the world – nobody can be close to and liked by everyone. You fall out of touch, or grow apart, whatever. Occasionally you might have an argument and go separate ways. Move on, it’s not a big deal. I think I’ve probably been unfriended more times than the average bear – just find some new friends, and appreciate the ones that stick around.

May 26, 2011

RYN – “My other fear is that I won’t be able to make new friends, and none of my friends will ever stick with me” – I think everyone fears this from time to time. I know I do, quite frequently actually because I’m not a very sociable person so I often feel like at the age of 26, I’ve passed all those standard opportunities for making new friends (school, college, starting work) and am down to theones I have already, basically. Then as they get thin on the ground you start to worry you might end up friendless. I can relate to that but it is just a worry and life doesn’t actually work out that way most of the time. Plus I’m sure you’re more likeable than me 🙂