Goodbye, Trehalose!

I had bought the hamster, Trehalose, after the death of Maltose in March 2006.  For the next 20 months, he was company to Lactose, Fussy, and finally Scaredy.  On Thursday, November 15, 2007, Trehalose began squeaking more often and had breathing problems.  His nose was twitching, and his breaths made squeaky noises.

I took him to the vet the next morning, and he received an injection.  I was then instructed to give Trehalose antibiotics twice a day for two weeks.  During the follow-up a few days later, the vet reported that his condition had improved, and I just had to keep up with the antibiotics for another week, so I did.

Unfortunately, on Sunday, November 25, 2007, I discovered Trehalose sleeping all day, waking up only for his medicine.  The next day, he barely moved, and later, I found his body cold and motionless, confirming death.  That’s why I had to later clean his cage, then let it dry and sit empty for a few hours.  Seeing empty cages is too painful.  The hamster neighbor, Scaredy, who had been lazy for weeks decided to become active after the death of Trehalose on November 26, 2007.

Log in to write a note
December 6, 2007

Very sorry to read this. I dont know if I could have hamsters. Its hard enough saying goodbye to my cats when its their time and hamesters have such a short life span.

December 12, 2007

sorry