Interspecies Communication

LJ Writers’ Block Question: Have you ever had your feelings hurt by an animal?

Humans are the only race who will hurt their own species, physically and emotionally.  If animals hurt others, it is only physically due to fear or lack of resources, but people will even go out of the way to hurt others, especially emotionally, for no good reason.  As I heard someone say, "Humans have to prove themselves to me."  Unlike people, animals do not insult, bias, discrimminate, plot, or play mind games, so I’ve never had my feelings hurt by my pets or other animals.

I don’t think people could really have their feelings hurt by animals… or maybe they can.  Though we say that people are not animals, they still belong to the Kingdom Animalia.  If that is the case, then I’ve had my feelings hurt by many members of the species of animals called Homo sapiens. The are the only species who will intentionally hurt other Homo sapiens and even members of other species.  I myself am a Homo sapien of the animal kingdom, and unfortunately, I’ve hurt too many people, animals, and other organisms.

Log in to write a note
September 18, 2009

I have a pissy tom cat who when he doesn’t get his way he pouts! he will do his best to pussh you out of the way if you are on his side of the bed. I swear he talks he meows differently when he wants out than when he is begging for meat from the kitchen table. he also will meow distinctively for tuna. he has my husband literally p whipped, (some pun intended)