My Sites Reported Offensive at FaceBook

On Thursday, April 8, 2010, I posted the following message on my FaceBook account: Sorry if I attacked or offended anyone with my websites. I clicked on the links to my websites under "Contact Information" to find that someone reported my websites as offensive. I have removed them. Now I’m wondering how my websites were set to "Everyone" when I had set it to "Friends Only." It might have been another technical problem since FaceBook gets many of them.
 
Along with the notification about my sites being offensive, they also had a link to the FB security community or application.  I began to fear that my websites might have given some people computer problems.  I removed the links, and when I tried to put them back in, I received an error message saying that the sites have been reported as offensive, so it wouldn’t go through.  I then went to the account and privacy settings to find that my website view had been set to Everyone when I had set it to Friends Only.  I know FB often runs into technical problems, and technology can be disobedient.  I recalled account settings dysfunctions, and figured that technology must have messed up and set my website view to Everyone without my consent.  That makes it viewable to anyone with internet access, and during that time some pranksters or troublemakes must have come across my account and reported the websites as a prank or for some other evil purpose.  I immediately set it back to Friends Only.

I wish FB had notified me right away when the sites had been reported.  That way I could have found out earlier and taken care of things.  I really hope that it doesn’t leave me with a bad FB record, and that I can put the website links back in the future.  In case any of you were offended by anything I put on my websites, or if my websites harmed your computer, I apologize.

Log in to write a note