Strange and Recurring Dreams

Weekly Theme: What was the strangest dream you ever had? Do you ever have recurring dreams?

My family and I were on some strange trip, and the strangest part was when we reached the motel, we sometimes ended up at home.  Still, no one noticed or paid any attention to it until I woke up in the morning to check on one of my favorite TV series, and it was an episode my brother and I missed before. I then went back to bed. That night, I realized that I had forgotten to set the timer to record its afternoon showing.

"We were at the motel," I said.  "We couldn’t have recorded anything anyways." Yet we were at home at times. Argh! We missed it again! However, I was then hot from the heat of the morning sun, so I got up before I could have any more bad dreams. Afraid of my nightmare coming true, I immediately set the timer, and checked it everytime I passed the VCR.

I had this dream a month before high school. I dreamed about the trip, woke up in real life to check on the show, and went back to bed. The weird dream continued until the summer sun woke me up. Fortunately, we caught the afternoon airing of the episode on tape.

There have been times in my life when I could wake up and remember dreams well. However, most of the time I forget. My dreams are usually strange. The past few years, I’ve had quite a few recurring dreams. Things that keep popping up in my dreams include conflicts with people, unable to stop or slow down my car even if I step hard on the brakes or turn off the engine, people mad at me, weak knees making me unable to stand, bad grades, missing classes and deadlines, and my hamsters mating and having too many babies. Most of my dreams jump around and don’t make sense.

Log in to write a note
April 20, 2011

RYN: Wow. I had to look up when I noted you, it had been so long. And, yes, I’ve noticed that too. I have some theories, but I’m not sure if I’m even close to right.