My cats speak Spanish so I won’t know what they are saying.

Daddy cat talks a LOT and most of the time they are sounds I have never heard from other cats before. He did the cutest little “bok!” sound the other day. I think maybe he is learning Swahili, it certainly sounded like the pops and clucks they use. Β πŸ˜‚
I did have other names for my 3 cats, but they ignore me most of the time anyway. This is strange as cats normally ignore one another and want my attention, like Perla and Silky have done.
I gave up trying to get them to recognize the names. hmmm Maybe I should have used Spanish names first, like Perla, and then when I started to call her Pearl she knew I meant her.Β πŸ˜‚

I call them Daddy (or Daddy cat) and Momma (Momma cat, though I think she knows she is Ginger) and Baby cat. They know which of them I am addressing, or looking for.

I hope the people who adopted Perla can calm her down a bit. She is a bit of a wild thing. She grew up on a shrimp farm, and to watch her play is hilarious, if you don’t value your furniture. hmmm
They are a family of 4 and the girls are old enough and young enough to not be hurt and to have lots of love and patience. Perla is a beautiful cat, stunning looking with orangish eyes the colour of that part of her fur. She also has a beautiful nature. If I didn’t have my three, and the cat that strayed in and had 4 babies and … I would have loved to have kept Perla, but …

Now I am just happy for the calm that has been restored since the family picked up Perla yesterday. She is very demanding and it’s good they are a young family and will have lots of energy to play with her.

They are to return the carrier this evening. I have put some toys aside to give them for her. I just need to remember where I put them now.Β πŸ˜‚
If they don’t return the carrier … C’est le vie. If they give her a forever-home it’s worth it.

Log in to write a note
September 19, 2022

I hope Perla enjoys her new family. She sounds like a sweet cat who hopefully will mellow out and be less demanding. Β Cats are the perfect pets. Β I love dogs, but they are much higher maintenance than cats.

September 20, 2022

@oswego

I loved having a dog when I was a kid, someone to walk with and explore with …
Cats make me laugh!