Blue Blue Dress – Chapter 7, Section 8

 

 

 

 

I feel like I should give a synopsis. Ha ha.

So this is the end of chapter 7. This scene is between the nurse taking care of  Alexis and Jordan who are in coma’s and the detective assigned to their case. The two victims were found in a single car wreck that seemed too major to involve only one vehicle. The victims are also unidentified at this time.

The detective is about to go to California (they are in Texas) to speak with a mother who reported her daughter missing…

 

 

7.8
The parking lot was dark as they made their way to Sheryl’s car. She had parked under a light, but the light had gone out and she was suddenly glad to have Doug there with her. She stopped and fidgeted with her keys before pushing the button. The headlights flashed and she opened the door, thinking she’d give him a quick hug and be on her way. Her thoughts were a mess and all she really wanted to do was go home and sleep before her next long day.
 
 
“Thanks for having coffee with me…” Doug said as she put her purse in the car. She turned around and looked at him in the dim light. He was handsome, very much so. He looked like a good guy and had all the right amounts of charisma, intelligence, humor, and strength. But Sheryl found herself wanting to pull back a little from the bond they had formed. It was almost as if things were moving too quickly. If anything, she wanted to get the mystery solved before she let herself get any closer. This guy could just be around for the ride and could disappear in an instant.
 
 
“Thank YOU for having coffee with me. I asked you first remember?”
 
 
Doug nodded. “And I’m glad too. May I call you?”
 
 
Sheryl found herself trying to think of an easy way to tell him to keep it case related when he said,
 
 
“I mean, when I get to California and everything. We’ll probably leave tomorrow and so I might not get a chance before then. I will keep my word on making sure you are informed about every step. And I hope you let me know if there are any developments with our patients…”
 
 
Sheryl smiled, “Of course.” She stepped forward. “So… until you get back… you take care and I’ll keep in touch.”
 
 
She leaned in for a one armed casual hug when he grabbed her around the waist and pulled their bodies close. His mouth came down over hers and swept her into cloud in which she kissed back, long and sweet as his hands held the small of her back. She couldn’t believe she was doing it, but couldn’t imagine not doing it all at the same time.
 
 
He pulled back looking down at her upturned face. Her lips stayed parted and her eyes were still closed. She was locked in the moment and didn’t want it to end. He gave her another soft kiss before she opened her eyes. The blush was already flaming across her face.
 
 
“I… I…”
 
 
“Shhhh.” he held his finger to her lips. “We’ll talk soon. Drive safely home…”
 
 
He stepped back and held her car door open. When she had settled in he softly shut it and waved as she started her engine and backed up.
 
 
She was quite a woman.

Log in to write a note