food survey. yum!

 I stole this from somebody who stole it from somebody else (who probably stole it from somebody else!), so pass it on, yo.
 

1. What’s the last thing you ate?

 A salad from McDonald’s.

2. What’s your favourite cheese?

For crackers: brie. with walnuts.
For sandwiches: muenster (preferably a European version) or Havarti

3. What’s your favorite fish?

 Probably cod or halibut, maybe flounder. I’m a fan of white fish.

4. What’s your favourite fruit?

Strawberries.

5. When, if ever, did you start liking olives?

 I don’t like olives. I wish I did, they look so tasty.

6. When, if ever, did you start liking beer?

I don’t like beer. And I don’t wish I did.

7. When, if ever, did you start liking shellfish?

 Oh, I can’t remember not liking shellfish. I’m all about seafood of pretty much any kind.

8. What was the best thing your mom/dad used to make?

 Hmm…. my dad: roast and brown rice for sunday dinner. My mom: she’s a baker, so I’d say any of her cakes. But one thing she used to make when we were little that I loved (which is super processed and bad for you, I’m sure) was fried salmon patties.

9. What’s the native specialty of your hometown?

Well, I’m from the south, so think Paula Deen. I guess things like grits, fried green tomatoes, fried chicken, cornbread, hushpuppies, pound cake. Stuff like that. 🙂 

10. What’s your comfort food?

 Hmm…. my favorite is probably homemade chicken noodle soup, but I guess it just depends on what I’m in the mood for when I need comforting.

11. What’s your favorite type of chocolate?

 I’m going to agree with [Beatrix K.] here:

The darker the better. Foreign. 

12. How do you like your steak?

Grass-fed.
At a restaurant: medium rare. At home: rare.

13. How do you like your burger?

Charcoal grilled, medium-well with cheese, a little mayo, lettuce, and pickles.

14. How do you like your eggs?

 Scrambled and runny. Or an egg white omelet.

15. How do you like your potatoes?

 Depends. I like baked potatoes, roasted red potatoes, mashed sweet potatoes, au gratin potatoes. Just depends on what I’m eatin’ em with.

16. How do you take your coffee?

 Strong. With sugar or splenda or the likes. No cream. At a coffee shop, I’d get a non-fat, sugar-free cinnamon (or vanilla) latte with no whip cream (at Starbucks, we’d call that a Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte).

17. How do you take your tea?

 Either: 
Iced, SWEET TEA! with sugar (preferably raw sugar) BEFORE it’s chilled!
or
Herbal, with one spoonful of honey.

18. What’s your favourite mug?

 It’s a big fat short mug that has a picture of some seeds or something on it. It came from Cracker Barrel, actually. I like the shape.

19. What’s your biscuit or cookie of choice?

 Meh, I’m not a huge fan of cookies. I’d rather have just plain chocolate, lol. But I guess if I have to pick, white chocolate macadamia nut.

20. What’s your ideal breakfast?

 French toast or crepes with fresh fruit (berries) and fresh made whipped cream. Plus some fresh orange juice and coffee.

21. What’s your ideal sandwich?

 Roast beef, turkey and havarti on grilled sourdough with lots of lettuce.

22. What’s your ideal pizza?

 Something awesome like chicken, turkey bacon, sweet roasted red peppers, onions, and pepperoncini made with fresh herbs (like parsley, basil, oregano), real olive oil, mozzarella and parmesan. Or maybe chicken, spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, pepperoncini, and feta. Both on a nice crispy thin crust or either a big fluffy whole-wheat crust.

23. What’s your ideal pie (sweet or savoury)? 
 
Peach.

24. What’s your ideal salad?

Something fresh, organic. Definitely with spring greens or spinach, I hate boring lettuce on my salads. And cucumbers for sure. Other wise, I like lots of different stuff.

25. What food do you always like to have in the fridge?

 1% milk, cheese, yogurt, fresh veggies, and pickles!

26. What food do you always like to have in the freezer?

 Usually always have frozen broccoli, chicken, whatever meat for the next week, and then some Lean Cuisine or Smart Ones for Matt’s lunch if we don’t have leftovers or time to make something.

27. What food do you always like to have in the cupboard?

 Pasta, cereal (mmm Kashi!), snacks (like rice cakes, popcorn, sun chips, etc.), chicken broth, canned tomatoes, and soup.

28. What spices can you not live without?

 Pepper, chili powder, dill, italian seasoning (though I prefer fresh herbs).

29. What sauces can you not live without?

Umm…. I don’t really use sauces much. I would say probably just like salad dressing. 

<span style="f

ont-family: Tahoma;”>30. Where do you buy most of your food?

 Local grocery store, Walmart (I know, sue me!), or the local health food/vitamin store.

31. What piece of kitchen equipment could you not live without?

 A really sharp chef’s knife.

32. What meats have you eaten besides cow, pig, and poultry?

 Hm… deer (food of my childhood!), snails, rabbit, does fish count?, duck, veal (well, I guess that’s a cow technically), lamb, buffalo, antelope, elk, oh I had frog legs once. That’s all I can think of.

33. What’s the last thing you ate that you picked in the wild?

 Probably a blackberry or a strawberry.

34. Arrange the following in order of preference: Italian, Mexican, Chinese, Indian, Thai, Sushi:

Chinese, Sushi, Mexican, Thai, Indian, Italian

35. Arrange the following in order of preference: Vodka, Whiskey, Brandy, Rum:

Vodka, Rum, Whiskey, Brandy

36. Arrange the following in order of preference: Garlic, Basil, Caramel, Lime, Mint, Ginger:

Garlic, Basil, Lime, Mint, Caramel

 

 Ginger.

37. Arrange the following in order of preference: Pineapple, Orange, Apple, Strawberry, Cherry, Watermelon, Banana:

Strawberry, Pineapple, Orange, Watermelon, Banana, Cherry, Apple.

39. What’s your fast food restaurant of choice, and what do you usually order?

 Hmm…. I’m not a big fan of fast food these days, but I guess… In N Out (Double double with no tomato, add pickles) or Five Guys (Single cheeseburger with mayo, lettuce, pickles, and jalapenos).

40. What’s the next thing you’ll eat?

 Probably homemade chicken noodle soup, or yogurt.

41. What do you normally have for breakfast?

 Cheese grits, or whole wheat english muffins with a bit of butter and salt, or fresh fruit and yogurt.

42. What do you normally have for lunch?

 Leftovers, or a salad or sandwich.

43. What do you normally have for dinner?

 Here’s a typical 1-2 week menu (we eat left overs every few days as well): 

Spaghetti with squash, zucchini, mushrooms and parmesan
Stuffed bell peppers (ground beef, rice, tomatoes, taco seasoning, etc.)
Grilled chicken salad (probably greek with feta cheese, olives, banana peppers, etc.) 
Grilled chicken and oven-roasted red potatoes and veggies
Gyros and pita chips with homemade tzatziki sauce
Quesadillas
Chinese stirfry  (with broccoli slaw) over brown rice
Breakfast for dinner (usually omelets and toast, or french toast and fruit)
Loaded baked potatoes
Sirloins and broccoli both topped with melted bleu cheese, yum!
Shrimp primavera pasta
Pita pizzas and soup, or paninis and pasta salad
Baked fish and lemon pepper roasted asparagus

44. What do you normally have for snacks?

 Banana, yogurt, rice cakes, popcorn, jello cups.

45. The four veggies you like most are:

 Cucumber, broccoli, carrots, lettuce (or raw spinach).

46. What fruit and vegetable do you like the least?

 Hmm… I’m not a huge fan of mangos or papayas, but I don’t dislike them completely. Otherwise, I love pretty much all fruits.
Veggies… I can’t stand beans or peas. Or legumes at all, really. I also can’t eat mushrooms (though I love the flavor and cook with them often). It’s the texture.

47. What’s your favorite chocolate bar?

 Something dark and european. Godiva is always a good choice.

48. What’s your favorite dessert?

Hmm… probably some kind of cheesecake.

49. What’s your favorite drink?

Sweet tea.

50. What’s your favorite snack?

 Depends on what I’m craving. My weakness is potato chips. I just don’t buy them anymore.

51. What’s your favorite gum?

 Orbit sweet mint or citrus mint.

52. What’s your favorite ice cream flavour?

 Not a big ice cream fan, but either butter pecan, or Ben & Jerry’s Karamel Sutra.

53. What’s your favorite potato chip flavour?

Kettle-cooked salt & vinegar or jalapeno cheddar.

54. What’s your favourite soup?

 Chicken tortilla or good old chicken noodle (the good kind though, not that chicken n stars shit).

55. What food do you hate?

 K…. I’d have to say liver is pretty shitty too. But also can’t stand anchovies, collard greens, and beans (but we already went over that).

56. What’s your favourite restaurant?

I really don’t have one particular favorite. I like a lot of different types of food, so there’s not one that sticks out in my mind.

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note