hi, I’m still alive.

I’m not proofreading this, so deal with it. 

It has been a very long time since I’ve updated this diary. Long enough that this interface seems foreign to me. I still log on every few days or so and read my favorites, though. Even in all this time, even though I never note anyone, I’ve kept up with you all. I don’t know who is still reading, but I know at least 2 people who will be very happy that I updated. 🙂 I can’t promise you that I’ll updated more often or anything, but I felt in the mood to write a little tonight, so here I am. In reality, I probably won’t update again for another 2 years or whatever it’s been. If you really want to keep up with me, I post on facebook fairly often and am on there to chat a good bit. Let me know who you are and I’ll accept you over there. 

I won’t try to recap my life since the last time I wrote, but I will give you some numbers. There has been 3 semesters of school; 14 (I think?) courses, including Advanced Comp Graphics, Photography (a joke!), Directed Projects in GD (twice–for varied experience, not because I failed lol), GD I, II, and III, Printmaking, Interface, Women and Art (amazing, perspective-changing) and a couple others; 13 A’s and 1 C (that bitch); 1 Club Art & Design presidency; 3 internships (at the same time!); 3 different apartments/homes; 2 different boys; 1 amazing me. 

Maybe now you can see why I haven’t written in so long? I’ve been kinda busy living my life, chasing my dreams. I am becoming an incredible designer and building quite the resume and portfolio to prove it. I’ve had the opportunity be in art shows, win awards, lead a club of my peers, give talks at neighboring universities and classes, and intern at some really awesome agencies. I’d say I’m lucky, but I truly believe we make our own opportunities through hard work and persistence. I am so proud of all I’ve done. It’s been really fun, too. Only 2 classes left — just Graphic Design Studies (a super easy class that I just never got around to taking before) and Senior Seminar. All new GD professors this semester and amazing possibilities. Graduation is in 4 months, and I am extremely excited! I’m ready to get my career started. 

In the meantime, I’m trying really hard to make amazing things happen with the club and focusing hardcore on my portfolio. I want it polished, beautiful and the best it can be. Dreaming big these days, thinking about doing something crazy, like going to NYC or Seattle or Boston or something after graduation. At one of my internships this summer (Merge Agency), I am learning big, huge, exciting things about web and digital design. I have the opportunity to continue working for them through the fall semester and am extremely grateful for that. 

I basically eat, sleep, and breathe design. I try to fit in time with my friends somewhere in there, but it gets hard. I try really hard to meet up with my best friend (in Greenville, anyway) at least every other week, and other than that, I don’t see a whole lot of people. Living with my mom again, which is good and bad in different ways. One good thing about it: I’ve lost about 25-30 lbs in the last few months. Started exercising after talking to my sister tonight about how she’s rocking it at the gym. Can’t wait to see how that will rock my results even more. 

I could probably go on and on about what’s happening, but I should get to sleep at some point. Errands, club meetings, work meetings, and freshman orientation booth for the club tomorrow. School starts next week for me. Thursday for everyone else, but I’m going on a retreat with Merge! Exciting. Maybe I’ll write about it. It’s been kind of nice to empty my brain out here a little bit. 

Hope this finds you all well and happy. <3

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note