03/23/2012

Not a lot going on this week. Pretty normal stuff.

I took a night to myself tonight, and I think it was pretty needed. I’m feeling rather worn out during the week lately because the work days are so packed.

I did get a few things done. I helped a friend from home with his resume, he’s looking for a job kind of similar to mine so I was able to give him some good tips.

In the process I began updating my own resume, and I think that was encouraging to me. With the way things have been, so busy lately, adding the skills I’ve acquired in the last 3 years helped remind me that I really have accomplished a lot and done some pretty significant resume building.

I’ve been reading a book this week, Crazy Love. I think it’s been very helpful so far, I’m about halfway done with it. The kindle edition is only $5, if you are interested in reading it.

I showed a picture of my work space in my apartment before, the desk and everything, but I had been wanting to clear that space out so I gave the desk away. For one thing, I put my guitar stuff over there and I think that is helpful in terms of getting me to practice more – having it set up instead of needing to drag things out of closets makes it all more accessible and you can just sit down and do it. Plus I think having a desk made me sit there and spend more time on the computer than I should be doing, which will be a life improvement.

The church has a social networking site, where people discuss things, post prayer requests, classified, give things away, etc. I put an ad on there that said “free desk” basically, and a guy came by to pick it up this week. He was with his elementary school aged son, and the desk was for him. I liked being able to help them out and give the kid a desk. I had one when I was growing up that I did my homework sitting at, I loved that rickety old thing. Hope he enjoys it too.

His father was much taller than me, I don’t know how tall but I’m 6’3″ and he was probably 6’8″ or something. His son was about 10 or 11 and was already 5 feet tall. I’m guessing it will fit him well, haha.

I decided that in the interest of simplifying my life I would look for a new small group from church that meets on a different night of the week. Tuesday night is pretty hard for me, and more than that, after being at work all day long, tacking on 2-3 more hours hurt my focus when I was there. I also hoped to find a group with some younger people who were more in my life situation.

Well, at church last Sunday as soon as the service ended I stood up, and the person sitting behind me grabbed me by the arm – it was a girl who looked somewhat familiar but who I couldn’t remember speaking with before. She said she had seen me around and wanted to invite me to her group, which actually meets on Sunday night which is much better, and they meet at an apartment that is right in my neighborhood. It really felt like a good opening so I think I am going to switch to that one.

I have to email the leader of my other group, and I think he might be disappointed… I hate having to tell people things or write them things that they won’t want to hear, but I think it’s the right decision. This will be helpful to me I think.

I’m feeling pretty content right now, despite my low happiness rating in the prior entry. My peace level is going up, but I’m not too content or comfortable with where I am at, if that makes sense. I see that as a good thing.

Not much else to report. Hope you guys are well.

Log in to write a note
March 23, 2012

I’ve been donating or selling things too, just to de-materialize and de-clutter my life. I feel so much better already! =)

March 23, 2012

I never worry you’re too far from a good place. 🙂

March 25, 2012

I hope the peace level continues going up. Can’t really be happy without it. As for the church group thing… well, it always sucks leaving people behind, but sometimes you just have to move on. You’ve always struck me as a guy who knows his own mind, so I know if you feel it’s right, it IS right.