Interviews

 I’ve had 3 interviews in the last week.

The first 2 were on the same day, one a phone interview, and later that day an in person interview for the same company.  I expected what happened for both of those interviews.

The first interview was with an HR person, asking the usual questions about my previous jobs, stressful situations, "what happens when.." sort of things. Expected. Prepared..mostly. There were a couple times I could’ve answered better, but what you gonna do?  The one later that day was with the head of the department I would be working for. She was very friendly, did some explaining, asked me a few questions, personal (getting to know me) and career-wise.  She gave me a tour of the place, of which I ran into someone who I went to school with in high school…not surprising as that location is only 45 minutes from there, and well Milwaukee is a pretty common city for everyone within an hour’s driving distance could work.  Anyways, I loved the environment, I loved the people, I understood exactly what I would be doing.  The downside is that it pays way less than I would prefer, and the hours are hours in which I could not also work at the restaurant…I could only work at the restaurant on weekends, and just so I could have a full day off from time to time, I would probably only work every other weekend or Saturdays only, or whatever.  The good thing is that I could move up and do the job I went to school for. If I get certified as a mIcrobiologist, I would get a pay raise, and I would probably be put on first shift, AND I would be doing what I want to be doing. yay!

 

The 2nd interview can NOT be described as an interview.  I showed up, the woman was extremely informal, which…it is an informal type of place that’s fine, but it was just weird.  As soon as I met her, she just talked and gave me a tour, told me all about the company, so all the questions I DID have prepared, she answered within the first 5 minutes.  She walked me through, pointed out this and that, told me what I would be doing. To be honest, it was weird to think how comforting the nasty smell of bacteria was to me.  Anyways, then she asks if I have any questions….well, no, you answered all of them. i did tell her that, in nicer terms.  But, she didn’t INTERVIEW me. She didn’t ask me any questions or have me describe this or that scenario. I did ask a couple as I finally started thinking of them, but they weren’t anything real.  She kept asking if I had questions but again all I could think was…is this it??  We headed back towards the front so I figured, okay, we’ll go to her office now, and then she’ll interview me.  Nope. She walked me straight to the door and said she’d make a decision by the end of the week.  Decision based on what?!? To be honest, she could make her decision based on my resume alone, because the two questions she DID ask me, were right on my resume.  There’s really no personality match at all, to be honest.  So, pros: still less than what I’d prefer to make, but more than what I’d be making at the last job at the hospital, AND it’s first shift, an early first shift, so I can still work at the restaurant 3-4 days a week, which would give me that extra $200 a week or so. It’s also a good foot in the door entry level job, where I can get some hands on lab experience.  Cons: it’s not very comforting. I just don’t connect or feel very welcomed in that place, or at least with that manager. I’m sure over time it would grow, as it’s a small company and there’s only one other lab tech.

But yeah..just..hmm…

The first job I won’t hear back from until early next week…sooo…I’m afraid of accepting the 2nd job and then i get the 1st one and think, "shit." Even worse, I’m afraid of turning down the 2nd job if I got it, but then I wouldn’t get the 1st one and think "double shit."

I think I’m going to hold off on answering the phone from any numbers I don’t recognize on Friday and try to wait until next week.

Wish me luck!

Log in to write a note
August 28, 2013

How did it go? did ya get the job?