sleep in the desert

I got back from work today at more or less 3 pm. I threw myself on the bed soon after and woke up literally 5 minutes ago. It’s damned 10:30 pm right now. And I still feel so incredibly tired that I am going to go back to sleep in a moment. What the hell is going on with me?

For the good news, I am going to have really easy days at work till the end of the week. The kids are writing their final exams so there are no classes, I only have to show up at school and watch over the ones who are writing. Knowing them, most will finish long before the time runs out, so I am hoping to be able to leave at around 11 am… that would be awesome.

And I finished reading a really good book yesterday: http://www.shelfari.com/books/54895/Fall-on-Your-Knees-(-Oprah-s-Book-Club-Selection-) I have never read a book so packed with complex characters and heart wrenching events. Another writer would most probably stretch this story into a few longish tomes, but I believe it would kill the fist-in-the-stomach impact that the book has on you. I have never been surprised by sudden turns of action so much, either, but what really makes this book stand out is the mixture of overwhelming, suffocating and incredibly intense emotions – from guilt to pleasure, from piety to cruelty, from love to hate. Highly recommended reading.

Now I have an ambitious plan to read Dune. I got totally fascinated by the story a few years ago when I first watched the tv miniseries ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0142032/ ). Obviously, even a several hours long series couldn’t quite cover everything and was doomed to simplification – I imagine that quite a lot of things had to be skipped – so there were some turns of events and decisions that I failed to understand. I wanted to read all 6 volumes for a long time now, but they were unavailable in Poland and for some reason no publisher dared to reprint. I did try to read the original English version instead, as I always prefer that to a translation that has the potential to ruin the book, but I somehow couldn’t stand the writing style. Seemed too artificial and clumsy to me. Now that the whole series is finally once again available in Polish, I am going to read it all. Let us hope the translators did a good job. Can’t wait!

Speaking of dunes and deserts – it has always been my dream to see Sahara desert and spend a night there…

Log in to write a note
April 22, 2009

Dune – I’ve read four of the books. Chapter House is still on my shelf to read. Heretics was bit boggy, but overall the series is good. The first book is great. I didn’t have an issue with the writing style. Then again, it gets rather fluid as you read it. Something about the style and the story seems to mesh somehow. BTW there are actually 6 MORE books. Chapter house books, and 2 his son wrote