A Day Off

After two days of horrifically boring shifts at work, having a day off today felt like pure heaven. I slept in til 8:30am, had a leisurely breakfast, chucked on some stretchy jeans, and easily made it to the doctors in time for my appointment to get the whooping cough booster. Aside from sitting in awkward silence with the nurse while we waited for the doctor to arrive and give the go ahead for the shot, the morning was pain-free, really.

A little shopping trip later and I returned home with two new pairs of running shorts and a book (all paid for with vouchers gifted at Christmas, of course), dove headfirst into a Gossip Girl binge, and then eventually rolled myself out of bed to do a workout. A pre-season fitness session with the netball girls and then a chatty dinner at a local place, and a walk with Mum to end the night! I felt so breezy and calm! Is this how retirees feel?!

Why can’t all days be like this? Honestly, I think everyone would be a lot happier if jobs and money wasn’t a thing and we could all just spend our days exactly how we’d wish to. (And yes, I’m well aware of all the actual issues with this scenario but I’m blissfully ignoring them).

There’s no actual substance in this entry whatsoever but it’ll be nice to look back on when the feelings of the earth crumbling beneath my very feet return. Happy days do exist!

Ashleigh

Log in to write a note
January 10, 2019

I’m glad you had a relaxing day off!

Working isn’t bad, when you actually like your job. I’d rather be working in my current role than sitting home and doing nothing all day. I hope that you’re able to find a job that you find more fulfilling.

January 13, 2019

Yes! I’ve often wondered, if there was a Utopian world, where money wasn’t needed, and no corruption,  what could the human race accomplish? We would have time to do what we want and be happy. Sounds like heaven.

January 16, 2019

@celestialflutter I so agree! Imagine all the time we’d have for actually enjoying our lives instead of being bogged down by work and money pressures!