Job Hunting & Binge Eating

Oops, I let a little time between entries slip by but life feels as though it’s at a bit of a standstill at the moment so there’s nothing too thrilling to write about. But also, isn’t the point of diary to write about anything and everything – even the seemingly unimportant?

I’ve been searching and searching for jobs the last few days, to no avail. There’s just nothing around at the moment and it’s so frustrating! I can’t possibly read anymore job listings telling me that even though I have a degree and several years experience in the field, I don’t have enough years and the specific experience they want. What’s a girl to do?! So I apply for the jobs anyway in hopes that they’ll notice the pure desperation coming off my cover letter and just hire me out of pity, despite the lack of experience.

I house/dog sat for a few days last week for a family friend and it was nice having the whole place to myself but also made me a little worried for when I finally move out of my parents house (in approx. ten thousand years at this rate). When left to my own devices, I really just get bored, and boredom always leads to binge eating. It’s disappointing because I was doing decently well with keeping my food under control but then Friday night came around and I ended up eating way, way too much Indian food. Like, a gross amount. And then Saturday afternoon it only got worse with potato chips, ice cream (the protein kind but I don’t think it remains healthy if you eat a whole pint), and then fish and chips for dinner. I struggle so much with restraint, food is such a comfort, and when there’s no one around to witness what I consume it just gets so much worse. Afterwards, the guilt drives me crazy because I’m not uneducated on health and nutrition – I know exactly what I should be eating and how much so when I blatantly ignore that for a binge session, it just horrifies me, truly. At least while I’m living at home there’s always people around and it usually – definitely not always – stops me from going too nuts on the food. I’m so weak, it’s unbelievable really.

Time for bed, I think.  Day off tomorrow so will hopefully get a little sleep in!

Ashleigh

 

Log in to write a note
January 22, 2019

I totally feel akin to you when I was about 10 years younger. I went through a spot of time where I couldn’t find work. I ended up doing a volunteer stint that ended me into a career completely different from my degree. I too struggle with binge eating and you’re right, it is way more difficult to manage when you are spending time along. Get a roommate. Get a Jillian Michaels roommate. Lol!

January 24, 2019

@celestialflutter Maybe I’ll email Jillian Michaels and see if she’s looking for a new housemate hahah

January 24, 2019

Lol. Do it! I don’t know if I could live with her kind of intensity.

January 22, 2019

I have binge eating issues too….it was worse when my husband was working nights, because it was just me and the dog in the evening, and hes very non judgemental dog lol

January 24, 2019

@cherrywine_1 If anything, my dogs encourage the behaviour because they’re just as keen for food as I am! lol