Dancing with a Rouge Valkyrie

Hey Fam,

I have decided to retire this account.

Years ago, I shared the link with a friend, not knowing they checked and read my posts often (referred to now as X), and I recently wrote a now removed post about a friend, of which  X has a mutal connection with. Let’s call her V. that post ultimately led to the destruction of two friendships, my friendship with X, which has spanned many years since she and her husband moved to my patch of the state,

And then the new friendship, around 5 months and 5 days old, the friendship I never knew I needed or wanted, that’s provided me with more support, advice, and guidance during my mental health and personal journey than any other before, one of the most amazing friendships I have ever had, my friendship with V.

Granted, the post was about my feelings on the friendship with V and what I thought could come from it one day.

But as the ‘Confused Husband & Father,’ rather than act on it and attempt to step out of the friend zone, I posted it here.

Because it wouldn’t work, I knew that. I am married! She is far too young! A plethora of things.

Anyway X read it and  sadly,  put two and two together and started inquiring, so I had to do the right thing and tell/show them what I had written.

Thus basically taking that jump out of the zone, creating that awkward space between close friends to oh shit, they want to be more than that! (I think I did, but was never going to try)

Now I’ve got neither friend…

However, this experience has also taught me some valuable lessons, one day I may write about them too, but until then,

Thank you for all your comments, for reading, and for your support. Please remember:

THIS PLATFORM IS NOT ALWAYS FOR THE FAINT-HEARTED! TRIGGER WARNING! Remember, posting privately and posting publicly are very different. Be careful who you share with.

If you are triggered or hurt by anything you read on this platform, elsewhere, or just in life, please seek assistance immediately. You are worth it!

I am still out there somewhere…

 

AMENDED: 14/04/2023 @ 1703

Log in to write a note