Agoraphobic quarantine

 

You know I think the best part about being a severely depressed agoraphobic is that I’ve been quarantined for the last year, so this is all business as usual for me. Imagine living like this all the time. No friends in person, no job, just sitting at home and depending on the internet for social interaction so you don’t go entirely insane. Welcome to my life everybody. I suggest you try reading as a hobby, or get into video games. That’s the only two things that really keep me going tbh. If you dont know what agoraphobia is, I’ll explain a little. I’m coming up on a year now since I’ve worked, which was the only reason I left my house before… And no agoraphobia isn’t a fear of going outside… It’s more like extreme social anxiety.. I have panic attacks when I’m around people I don’t know .. like if I go to the dollar store for something, I’m okay with earbuds in until I get in line and then I start sweating and shaking and am usually hyperventilating or in tears by the time I get back to my car.. it sucks majorly. Just remember to count your blessings. When this covid crisis is over, you get to go back to normal. You’ll make it thru this. Virtual hugs (lol the only kind I offer) 💚

 

Side note, I didn’t mean for this to sound like a pity party when I first started writing. So, sorry.

Log in to write a note
April 4, 2020

I didn’t see it as a pity party. It does sound really hard though. I think I have minor social anxiety.

April 5, 2020

@celestialflutter thank you for understanding! I hope you find better ways to cope with yours than I have. ☺️

April 5, 2020

have you been working with anyone to treat your agoraphobia?

April 5, 2020

@jadedgrrl I’ve tried to but it’s hard for me because the same thing happens when I’m going to see a therapist… I know I need help but it’s so exhausting so I’m just kind of in a slump right now. Lol I’m going to try again soon though.