homeschool talk and…other things

 

 

 

I think I mentioned yesterday that I plan to start homeschooling Chloe next year.  She’ll be three and a half, four that January, and given the knowledge she already has, I think it will be a good time to start "preschool."  It still won’t be anything very structured or intensive, probably just 30 minutes a day a few days a week. 

She’s already very good at:

– counting from 1-20
– saying the alphabet
– recognizing the letters of the alphabet
– sounding out about a dozen alphabet sounds
– recognizing the basic shapes
– recognizing most colors
– memorizing things (which astounds me!)

So, our preschool time is going to involve expanding the foundation she already has and working on things like letter sounds and starting to write. 

I’m trying to plan a bit in my head for Jacob, so I don’t get caught extremely unprepared in the event that Aaron gets full custody of him.  I don’t see it as a true likelihood at this point, just because the system is the way it is, but I’m still just trying to think ahead. 

 

For all the kids, I’m pretty convinced that the Workbox System is going to be the way to go.  I’ve seen absolutely nothing but good things about it, and I can’t recall anyone ever posting anything about it they didn’t like.  Plus, the workbox system is structured so that, if I set up the day’s school work and then later have a photo session or something, the babysitter or Aaron or my mom can just jump right in with no confusion.

Now, I just have to decide on curriculum.  Hah!  That’s going to be the fun one.  There are so many!!

 

My darling Benjamin is SO sick this week.  I actually took him to urgent care yesterday.  The stupid doctor said the stomach flu, which is stupid because he isn’t really puking.  Just throwing up mucous from sinus drainage.  His little cousin had an upper respiratory infection, with a fever, so he may have caught that.  He’s worse today than yesterday, so if he continues to get sicker, I’ll take him back this weekend. 

He’s been a little bear to deal with, though.  He can’t sleep because sinus drainage makes him choke, and he’s so cranky and fussy, and wanting to nurse every hour, even though he then gets sick from overeating.  He gets so mad when I wipe his nose.  I have to suction it with the bulb syringe at night so he can sleep.  And on top of all of that, he’s still teething. 

Right now we’re sitting in the boys’ room and he’s playing nicely by himself on the floor while I sit by Jacob’s bed and type this.  But if I were to step outside the room for something?  Oy. 

 

So. 

…..

….

Aaron and I had sex last night. 

I had planned on waiting to resume that part of our relationship until we had at least talked to the counselor and were working toward making a road map for ourselves; just precautions against ending up where we were again.  And I still agree that’s a good idea.

But in the end, it had been about nine months, and I just needed to get laid.  Lol. 

So we did.  And it was great.  And I slept SO good, despite Benjamin’s cranky middle-of-the-night whining. 

Besides, it was nice to be able to "reconnect" in that way and feel 100% positive about the experience. 

 

lilypie 3rd birthday tickerlilypie 1st birthday tickerlilypie kids birthday tickers

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 4, 2009

Wow. I can’t imagine going 9 months without (does that make sound like a slut? If so: oops.) – so yay for a little action 🙂

i’m not sure i could ever do homeschool. i admire people who do. it sounds strange, but i see it as a huuuuuge responsibility (somehow even bigger than the whole bringing up a child). xx

September 4, 2009

I’m really glad for you guys! Sex can be an incredibly intimate and connecting experience!! Especially when things are shaky!! *hugs*

September 5, 2009

yEAH FOR THE sex! How about you do NO curriculum… but what YOU feel is best for Chloe – I’m sure you can find lots of good ideas on the internet

You should read the book How to teach your baby to read. I am doing that program with my son and in 3 weeks he learned how to read 43 words and counting.