Classes Drama

  Good day to all.  Its the end of my first week of classes.  There’s some good, there’s some bad, and there’s some wtf?  But all in all, I should make it through the semester intact, I think.  Hehe.  Anyway, it was a short week, we started on Tuesday because we have Martin Luther King Jr. Day off.  But the week seemed longer somehow.  *shrugs* 

  So, I started my week on tuesday.  I had one class in the morning that I had to fight to stay awake for, which was my Astronomy class.  Its at 9am, which as regular readers know, is just a tad early for me.  The teacher is kind of lacking social skills, but he seems to know what he’s talking about in terms of the subject.  I stayed awake better yesterday.  This is will be my last science class, I still have to take a lab for it, but other than that I’ll be done.  After that I had a big gap where I did a whole lot of nothing the first day.  Yesterday I was able to spend it better.  I spent some time with Marie, we made good use of a practice room, hehe.  Then I met Krillen for lunch.  After that I went to my next class, which is Tai Chi.  I saw a couple of people who took it a couple of semesters ago, but dropped it for whatever reasons.  Also, there’s a guy that I went to high school with, but never really talked to.  Its kind of funny to talk with him though, we’re both alot different than we were in high school.  He seems nice enough though.  I don’t think we’ll become like best friends, but its nice to have someone to talk to in class.  So that was Tuesday and Thursday.  Not too shabby, I’m happy with my classes there. 

  Then I get to Wednesday and Friday.  My first class of the day is another one of those waste of time classes.  Its called Western Cultural Heritage.  From what the course book described, it sounded exactly what I got from taking English Lit and World History, maybe a little Philosophy.  Nevertheless, I still have to take the damn class.  When I got there, the teacher did absolutely nothing to improve my view of the class.  If anything, he proved it was even more of a waste of time.  He sounds, looks, and acts like a closet gay man too.  As readers will remember, I have nothing at all against gay people, but the ones that are gay and pretend to be straight kind of annoy me at times.  This was one of those times.  He has all these awful ideas too.  First off, as soon as he closes the door, which he does the minute class officially starts, you’re absent.  You’re not tardy, you’re not late, you’re absent.  You can still come in and participate, but you’re still counted not there for the day.  Plus, you get three absences by university rules before the teacher can start bringing down your grade.  The unversity classifies these as unexcused absences.  When people have to go to training for work study jobs, go to university athletic events, etc its called an excused absence.  This guy says it doesn’t matter if the university excuses it, you’ve still taken up one of your three.  You chose to be an athlete, so you just have to deal with it.  Then we’re put into groups for the entire semester.  The group he picks at the beginning of the semester is the one you’re stuck with for the rest of the semester.  We have to do work with the group. No exceptions. And here’s the other thing that bothers me, the group has these 3×5 cards with their names on them.  Those are their attendence cards, if anyone messes with that, not only do they fail, but so does the group.  I am not putting the fate of my grade in someone else’s hands.  Its just not going to happen.  So that was the first day.  Today, sure enough, my sister woke up late and so I woke up late and we were running late.  I got to the class exactly 1 minute after offical class starting time.  The door was already closed.  I said forget this and left.  And, as of five minutes ago, I dropped the class and I’m taking something else.  But I still plan to write to the Dean of the college about this.  Its not right and it disturbs me that there’s professors like that teaching.  Anyway…

  After that things went much better.  I’m taking French this semester.  I’m excited about that.  My best friend, Krillen is taking it too, so it will be the first class we’re in together since high school.  So, needless to say, we were checking out the room, seeing who we’d like to practice french with, hehe.  I did met the enchanting Alexandria though, rawr.  Hehe.  Anyway, the French teacher is from France and I realized something after listening to him.  The Merovingian has a bad French accent.  Hehe.  Anyway, it was fun and I’m looking forward to the rest of the class.  After that I had my last class, which was Screenwriting.  I’m very excited about this class, because this really goes into what I’m interested in.  It will be interesting to be able to actually change my stories into a real movie script.  And its with my favorite creative writing teacher too. 

  So that’s my classes as it stands.  I’m still waiting to hear back from one of the violin instructors.  I don’t know if I’ll be taking lessons this semester or not.  But I’ll have to wait and see.  Actually, come to think of it I’ll have to email him again and tell him about the change in my schedule.  Arg.  Well, I’ll write more about classes later, but that’s all for now.  Good eve to all.  Au revoir!

-Damien

This is how you know that your day probably is not going to be a good one.

Log in to write a note
January 20, 2006

lol nice picture. Ok and that teacher that counts u late once the door is closed, what a freakin moron!

January 26, 2006

My classes are okay. Two psychs, one japanese, and advanced reading and writing. I love Reading and Writing because we’re constantly reading essays and stuff, then discussing them all class period. I really like it, makes me feel all scholarly (LOL) ‘cuz I love to discuss any sort of literature/writings. Psychs are good, saw a vid of a labotamy the other day, totally rad. Very humdrum…