CoH CoS (Chapter 31)

Damien stood on the roof of the Knight HQ, looking over the compound and the city beyond. He closed his eyes and concentrated. The air shimmered in front of him. Full, gleaming white angelic wings sprouted from his back, streching to full height. He jumped off the building. The air screamed in his ears as he plummeted toward the ground. Then, his wings spread, catching the air and he flew. He moved slowly at first, the new muscles warming to the work. He moved faster and faster as he flew. The air parted in front of him like water by a ship. He flew on and on, over miles of distance. He slowed as he neared a large open field. He slowly lowered to the ground, landing lightly. A group stood waiting there.

“Good eve Elysyan Daymin.”

“You called me here. What do you want Kain?”

“Damien, I’m suprised. I thought you could manage a better greeting for an old friend.”

“We were never friends. You left the Light and took the disillusioned with you, then you threw in with the Randon.”

Kain’s sapphire blue eyes smoldered, “The Light left me, it was not the other way around! I made friends where I could.”

Damien’s bright turquoise eyes narrowed, “Believe what you will. It does not change the truth. This grows weary though. What do you want?”

Kain looked at Damien for a few more moments before dropping his angry gaze for one of indifference.

“We have come to offer a truce. We rather not continue this war and would be satisifed with just a portion of the planet.”

“As long as I am standing not one of you will live on this planet for any amount of time.”

One of the Randon moved forward, drawing his sword, “Then let’s see if you say that still when you’re not standing.”

Damien moved swiftly, a lightsaber snapping into his hand and igniting. He made a swift sweep and the Randon gurgled at him one last time before his head fell from his shoulders. The other started to move forward, but Kain stopped them with a light touch. Damien glowered at the remaining Randon before shutting down the saber.

“Ah, the famous lightsaber. Tell me, how do you make such wonderful toys.”

“Don’t you know already from the ones you’ve taken from the Knights you’ve killed?”

“I would, but it seems that they have the annoying habit of going under ionic disinegration every time we try to tinker with them. I’ve already lost three of my scientists that way.”

Damien smirked darkly, “How terrible.”

“I’m sure you feel as such. But come, you must reconsider our offer. No one wants to drag this on more than it has.”

“Then leave and don’t come back.”

Kain’s eyes narrowed, “Know this, the Randon never leave an occupation. They will not stop and they will not leave. We will crush your miserable Knights and I will deliver the killing stroke to you myself.”

“We shall see how things end Kain.”

Damien spread his wings and flew away from the group as Kain gestured to the group and left in a wave of darkness.

Damien

Log in to write a note

your writing never ceases to amaze me…you always seem to take me into the story…its awesome…take care…

*smiles* Once again, well written, friend. Though I think at some point in my life, I will have to write one short book, and through the character of “Kain”, tell the world why “I”, the character, went wrong… Take care, my dear friend, and be well… (and keep writing instead of disappearing *winks*)

Yes, I wrote it, and rereading it, I can certainly see why it might have been confusing. Well, friend, you know where to find me *smiles* and I’d be more than happy to explain. Take care, dear friend, and be well… (Honestly.. you had to ask who it was? *chuckles*)