CoH CoS: Chapter 37

Damien sat before the altar, his lightswords resting in front of him. It was dim in the church, the only light from candles and full moonlight streaming through the stained glass windows. There were soft whispering sounds from the back where Brother Matthias bustled around, cleaning invisible specks of dust.
“ I didn’t know you came to church anymore.”
The words were spoken softly from the pew behind him where Chip had teleported moments earlier.
“I haven’t, not since…well, you know why.”
Chip nodded slowly and there was silence for a few moments. Damien spoke again,
“ One could say that I wanted to pay my respects. The Randon are creatures that consume all that they touch. If we fail tomorrow, all creation will come to an end. He and I may have not always been on the best of terms, but we’ve always wanted to do what was best for creation.”
“Do you think we have chance Damien?”
“A chance? We always have a chance old friend. But I will tell you, this is the first time I’ve been afraid of the outcome an engagement. Not for me, but for all those I love.”
Chip smiled sadly, “As you always have old friend.”
Damien nodded and rose from the pew. Out of old habit he genuflected in front of the altar.
“Thank you Brother Matthias for allowing me the time in the church.”

“If there is anyone that deserves my time, it is you Knight.  Go in faith and may God be with you.

“May God be with us all Brother.”

Damien and Chip bowed to the monk before disapearing in a soft flash of light.

-Damien

Log in to write a note
December 15, 2004

As always… very nice!

December 19, 2004

ryn: I suck 😉