Disney and other such nonsense…

  Good day to all.  I’m here in the computer lab at school, trying to make sense of situations that seem to happen over and over.  I got good news yesterday, but at the same time it’s bad news.  Let’s go back to the beginning though.  Two weeks ago I was in the student union waiting for my sister to arrive so we could have lunch together as usual.  I was looking around and I saw a table set up with people from disney advertising their internship program.  Melba had been on this trip before and had nothing but good things to say about it.  My sister still hadn’t come so I thought I’d kill time and go see what they had.  So I talked to them for awhile, got some info and the like, got invited to their presentation.  I said thank you, went back to where I was waiting, my sister came and we went to go eat.  So, I thought about it and decided I should just go the the presentation, who knows, maybe something cool would happen.  But it was in the evening, so I had to inform the family cause I still needed a ride home after that.  They don’t say much, not knowing anything about the program and off I go.  Well, I had a great time at the presentation, one of the people from the table recognized me as someone who had asked for info and gave me a recommendation card for my interview.  The interviews were the next morning.  Anyway, so I go home and tell my family and that’s when the shit hits the fan.  They were so cynical about the whole idea, they gave all these reasons why it would be bad for me and none of the good side.  My mother even gave me a religious reason why I shouldn’t go.  I couldn’t believe it, at all.  Here I go and put some effort into finding out about an intership with a large company.  Disney owns about 50% of the entertainment industry.  How would it not be a good idea for someone interested in the writing and the movie industry to go on an intership with them.  Well, I went on the interview anyway.  My family was gracious enough (after they saw that they couldn’t change my mind on going to the interview) to say that it was probably good experience to go to an intership interview so I could see how it is.  Well, I went and the interview went great.  After I got home I got into another fight with my mother about the whole thing.  My mother informed me (even though I already knew) that my family wouldn’t help me at all financially for the intership.  Well, yesterday I got disney’s decision.  They accepted my application and picked me to go on the intership.  Now I’m not sure what to do.  It’s not like I don’t want to go.  But there’s a bit of a problem.  First off, you need to get to florida on your own.  I can’t afford a plane ticket and I know that no one is able or wants to drive me down there.  Technically I could get a credit card with my bank, charge the ticket and by the time the statement comes I should have been working for awhile and able to make payments.  Oh, it’s a paid intership, forgot to mention that.  There’s a second problem as well.  They reqire a $60 deposit to reserve the apartment you’ll be staying in, pay for utilites, security, computer lab, that sort of thing.  They want that in a cashier’s check or a money order.  After I pay my cell phone I’ll have about $10 to my name.  I don’t have to money for that.  So much crap for something that was supposed to be so happy.  *sighs* I’m still not sure what to do.  I’ll probably have to decline on the intership.  Well, I have to go get to class.  Maybe a solution will present itself.  I doubt it tho.  Good day to all.

-Damien

Log in to write a note

Hi, I’m new here. I’ve been reading your stories and their great. I’m sorry things aren’t going well for you. I hope they get better.

there are ways to go! someone told me if you go to the SGA and ask to be sponsored, that they will sponsor you to go- theres a limit though but i think (not sure) its somewhere around $300. please go check it out! don’t let this opportunity pass you by! Hawk