Not another Teen situation…

Good eve to all. It hasn’t been the greatest of days lately, but it had to happen some time right? I guess I should be happy right now, but I’m not. I can’t be..I’ve tried. Well, first off let’s go with the good thing. I just got a job as a Desk Attendant for Spring Semester. Which is really good because it’s on campus so I don’t need to worry about transporation. I have no car for those that don’t know. Plus, I don’t have to worry about getting a job when I come back. Anyway, that was Tuesday that I found that out. Wedensday is when the shit hit the fan. I wrote in an eariler entry about the organization I’m in that went to Denver for that leadership conference. Well, they had elections recently. I ran for two different offices. The office of the Vice President and the office of the Fundraising Coordintor. I ran for VP because it’s what I really wanted, what I knew I could do. I had years experience in it from four different organizations. I had also ran for FC, honestly because the former FC (who is a friend) asked me to and because it was an almost guarentee that I’d at least be elected for it, which even thought it wasn’t what I wanted, it was a position on the excutive board. Anyway, yesterday I got the FC position. The fact that I didn’t get elected for VP isn’t what gets me. (considering this isn’t the first organization I’ve been in, it’s not the first time I’ve ran for a position and lost) What gets me is who they elected. The person that was elected..hmm..well let’s just call him Backstreet (I’ll explain why in a bit). Backstreet is, well in a word, an a$$hole. He just also happens to be a sweet talking, Backstreet Boy look alike. He’s the kind of person that will do enough of something to make it look like he did something great, but not enough to actually do any real work. He’s a slacker that constantly wheedles people into doing his share of the work, but takes all the credit. He’ll only compliment someone when it makes him look good, but if it takes away from his spotlight forget it. I know that my grounds for this are not unfounded. I’ve heard about his lack of real work from other people. Even the advisor for the group, who is a paid member of the regular faculity (sp?) told me that he’s a slacker, a goof-off and that he shouldn’t get the office of VP. The advisor has been with the organization for a long time now, he’s seen alot of VPs go through it. He knows what a good VP is and he told me that he honestly thought I should get the position and that Backstreet shouldn’t have even been nominated for it. This guy didn’t even have any other credientials except for the position he was voted to this year. I think that this gets me so much because this sort of thing was supposed to be behind me, this immaturity of people to elect officers like this idiot. I know alot of this sounds like a rant, but I’m just too out of it to give a rational argument with all the points it does have. Anyway, good night to all.

Tenchi

“…the cultivation of the mind, the body, and the soul, and we must always cultivate the soul.”

P.S. I know I was supposed to write something else Wisa, but I can’t think very happy or creative right now.

Log in to write a note

I’m sorry honey. Sounds like this “Backstreet” kid is up to no good, to sound like a powerpuff narrator. Just do all you can to try and keep things in order and maybe you’ll get his sorry butt to resign, or something. 🙂 –Optimistic Mich–

December 6, 2001

((Tenchi))I’m sorry that things didn’t work out for you. It’s frustrating when things like this happen. I hope that your evening improves. Talk to you later.Laura

Its ok hon. I know exactly what you mean. And yes thats high school bullshit. Its crap. I hate guys like that. I really do. I hate preppy, know-it-all, muscle guys. YUCK! My god, everyone will someday realize hes a loser and wont get anywhere in life. But someone like you, your goig to go far in life, your talented, smart, funny, sexy, and your a great writer! Luv ya sexy *muah*

December 7, 2001

youre right, its too bad that people cant see through to the real person…just do your job to the best of your ability and like my mama always tells me, “good things come to those who wait.” i know, i know, it probably doesnt encourage you much, but i didnt know what else to say…LOL…anyway, take care, be safe and be well =)

February 24, 2003

Sounds like a problem that frequently occurs. The true leaders in large organizations are usually those in charge of important, specific matters. In many cases, in a group that large, the Pres/VP will be the best POLITICIAN, not the best leader.