Redemption (Chapter 2)

Dimitri sat in class, writing a letter. He only half listened to the teacher. He could hear the teacher cursing the projection screen as he lectured. The screen was always getting stuck, not wanting to roll back up. He was just getting into his letter when there was a loud sound, “spang!” and the teacher shouting “look out!”. He didn’t really look up. He saw people ducking out of the way out of the corner of his eye. He saw a piece of metal flying toward him. He kept writing. At the last possible moment, his hand snapped up and plucked the flying metal from the air as easily as plucking a cherry from a tree. He stood up slowly, the class silent. He handed the piece of metal to the professor and walked back to his seat. He picked up his pen and continued his letter. The class ended and he began walking out with the other students.

“Mr Masaki?”

Dimitri turned around and looked at the professor.

“Yes sir?”

“How did you do that today?” The professor said, gesturing toward the projector screen. Dimitri followed his gaze and then looked back at the professor.

“Luck. Have a good weekend sir.”

Dimitri turned and walked out.

“Hey D!”

Dimitri turned to see his friend Jorge walking toward him.

“I wish you wouldn’t call me that.”

“But it’s necessary D, it’s cause I know you’re down yo.”

They looked at each other for a moment then burst out laughing.

“Hey man, what was up today? If you had been any cooler in class I would have asked you to hold my soda so I could have some ice cubes.”

“Oh come on, you know as well as I do that class is a waste of time.”

“Yeah, but it’s required. Forget about that. Let’s go get some lunch.”

“Food and women…all you think about. If you loved football they could term you the typical male.”

“Come on man, I’m hungry.”

“You’re always hungry.”

They walked down to the food court, still talking and joking with each other.

Damien

Log in to write a note

haha, i’m sure we’re two of millions of people who wish they could be living somewhere else.

It seems I don’t even have to sign my notes… Perhaps you are psychic after all, no?

May 6, 2003

Speaking of football… a football quote for you (but one I think you’d like): “Football combines two of the worst things about American life. It is violence punctuated by committee meetings.” — George Will *grins* Be well, and I hope to talk to you soon as well.

May 7, 2003

*smirks* Aye, I’d imagine not. Now all of you non-Californians have something ELSE to give us a hard time about.

May 7, 2003

Strike that last part, rephrase with “give us Californians grief about”.

Hey man youre not a bad writer, not at all. I think an apology and things like that are in order, from me to you, and dont worry, got “Kristien’s” permission and all. Shes the one who told me how to find you. Anyways I apologize again for my behavior, its hard to know a persons personality over internet and so it was hard to think you could be what you seemed to be, but Kris told me

told me what you did a couple days ago and how cool you were about everything and I just wanted to say that I was wrong, and its always been a thing with me that when a mans wrong, he needs to make it right. I was wrong, its still weird because its kinda a new thing to get used to but I do know now I was wrong. You can get ahold of me if you want at inthewire.com as ~mark-e-mark~ and maybe

reading through my first few enries you can see why I responded the way I did to some stuff, even though it doesnt excuse the way I acted. I ask for your forgiveness but dont really expect it, all I hope is that at least youll understand why I said some stuff and that I am apologizing sincerely. ~Mark Tognelli