What was the greatest thing before sliced bread?

  It’s back to the old grindstone.  It’s my first day back at school, summer school that is.  It’s only a single class, but it is every day and it’s for two hours.  Ah well.  Yet, being back at college has never been much of a struggle for me.  I guess it’s just that I dislike being at home, so school is a much better alternative.  Hopefully I should be getting more writing done since I have so much free time before and after my class. 

I spent my day with Marie yesterday.  Things went pretty well, she took me to the indoor swimming pool at her apartment complex.  I haven’t been in a pool since I was kid and even then I could stay afloat, but couldn’t really swim.  So, we went and I practiced the basics.  It went okay.  I figure I should get better over time.  I’m just not sure about one thing…does being underwater bother anyone with contacts?  Or do you just take them off when you go swimming.  I’m thinking that maybe I should just wear my glasses over there and take them off when I go swimming.  We watched the Last Samurai after that, well I watched it, she fell asleep.  She had already seen it and thought I should see it, especially since I studied Kendo and Iaido, which is Japanese swordsmanship.  It was pretty good; one of Cruise’s better performances in years in my opinion.

Recently I started writing what I call an “If” story.  I’ve been doing these for years, in my head.  I’ve never put one down on paper or typed a single sentence.  These are more personal stories, dealing with the premise of “If this happened in my life…” or “If I could do this…” or “If things were like this…”, I’m sure you get the idea.  Anyway, recently, for pretty much no reason at all, I started writing the oldest and longest running “If” story.  It’s not one that I’m going to post on here.  It’s just a little too close to the heart for regular comfort, but sometimes I wonder about writing it.  It brings up alot of past demons.  Some days I’m not sure if it helps me deal with life or makes me more cynical.  Yet, I know that this is a project that will have to be finished.  This is not one that will be started and dropped only a few weeks later.  I’ll see how it goes though.  Well, I believe I’ve carried on long enough.  One still has to wonder though.

What was the greatest thing before sliced bread?

-Damien

Log in to write a note

My friends all have contacts and they go swimming. Usually they keep their eyes closed under water though. If they open their eyes it burns. But sometimes they can open them. But once my friend did that and lost her contact in the pool.

June 1, 2004

Swimming with my contacts in makes my eyes hurt, but still I do it because I hate how blind I am without them. Over time, you get used to it, but still… I hope that the if story proves helpful. Take care. Talk to you soon.

June 1, 2004

To answer your last question… bread that didn’t need to be sliced? *shrugs*

June 2, 2004

the greatest thing before sliced bread? id have to wheels….but when exactly was sliced bread ‘invented’? hmm

June 2, 2004

i’m guessing canned vegetables were the best thing before sliced bread. Not to undermine sliced bread or anything, hell i hate cutting it… not good with knives.