“Dreams that never die”

"Dreams that never die"

The boy looked down and spit at the ground.
His thoughts trailed off to all the worries and smiles in his head.

Would there be a tomorrow to run again down the dusty dirty roads,
To the places he loved to hide and play with all the friends he knows,

Doing all the things that boys do,
Lighting matches then flicking them into the tall, grassy weeds,

Riding his bicycle to the place at the creek where water falls from the tall rocks?
And the shade of the trees keeps quiet, all his secret, intrusive thoughts.

Would there be tomorrow to go walking in the wild flowers of his dreams,
The place where his innocence remembers only pleasant things?

If tomorrow never comes, says the worry in his mind,

I won’t be sad, because I have all my memories of this beautiful place in my head.
Dreams where I once lived, when I once lived, that will never be dead.

Log in to write a note