He’s Messaging Me About the Cat Again

He’s messaging me about the cat again. I’ve already told him I’ve done as much as I can do. I already told him we’re going to have to wait at least two weeks if we want to take her back. I already dropped hundreds of dollars on vet care, she’s elderly and we know she’s probably going to pass away. I told him just keep giving her the medicine, just love on her and feed her and water her and if she passes away then that’s the way of things. And why does he always wait until I’m at work to contact me? He lost his job, again, so he’s not working.

I keep wondering if he just doesn’t want the cat anymore and he’s trying to put pressure on me to take her or something. Like how bad is she really? Is this just my brothers anxiety trying to drag us all down? I can’t trust my brothers interpretation of events anyway. I texted him back and told him I was on a work call and asked him what he meant by “she’s looking bad,” but he never answered me. I’m not gonna call back, not because I don’t care about the cat, but because I can’t do anything else and I don’t want to torture myself with it. Maybe he’s just wanting me to share the pain? No thank you. I’d rather compartmentalize and then deal with it on my own. As for him, I don’t have any sympathy. My entire life he’s been abusive as hell. All of the times in my life I’ve expressed grief or sadness he’s either not been there, blamed me for it or actively mocked me. If he really wants to talk to me during work hours he can respond to my text.

Log in to write a note
May 23, 2023

*hugs*