Last day for Netsurfing for a while

 Well, today is the last day for me to surf the Net after which I will be on a break for 61 days commencing on May 1st and going till June 30th.  It’s probably going to be a very big challenge because the longest I have gone without using the net in the last 11 years has been 15 days when I went away to ConFest.

Today was a rather quiet day for me.  I rang my accountant up regarding the tax stimulus cheque, but because I earned under the tax free threshold last year I don’t qualify for it unfortunately.  So that’s a few plans having to be spread out over time….looks like I won’t be able to get a new acoustic guitar until after July once I’ve got the damned mobile telephone bill fixed up.

The labour day weekend is on this weekend, and my folks are going to be away at Lake Perseverance for the Silver Fawn camp.  I can’t believe that they’ve been involved with it for soooo long – it seems like another world and time altogether when the happy campers were playing board games, having rice and curry meals three times a day, and doing skit contests done up as Robert Palmer in the clip "Simply Irresistible" and my sister Melissa taking of Jophesine from The Comedy Company (woooow, I’m really showing my age now!)

I decided to cancel going up to As We Like It for the World Naked Gardening Day this weekend.  I got only two half hearted responses to it on facebook, seven who declined (a few of whom are also nudists), and 18 didn’t even acknowledge my invitation!  This has pissed me off something chronic, and has caused me to question what sort of values people have today regarding friendship and comradery.  I used to think that the Internet was going to be a magic tool to help bring the world together again as one to work for two common goods: break down societal borders and boundaries, and help to save the planet from destruction both from its own doing and from humanity’s doing.  Instead, the Net has made people even more marginalised, unfriendly and downright paranoid.  Shame.

Not much else to report – tried calling the guy to get my windscreen fixed, left him a message at about 11 a.m. and he didn’t bother to call me back.  I dunno……Australians are just such an apathetic and lackadaiscal people.  As much as I hate to say this, even though I am a peaceful and peaceable person at heart, I get the feeling that either a civil war or a nuclear fallout is what would be needed to bring people and communities back together again.

I checked out the site http://www.43things.com and signed up for it today.  It’s an excellent site whereby you state 43 things you want to achieve within a year and check yourself up on them at any time to see how well you’re doing.

Went out tonight to see Drawn From Bees at Rics for a while, the show was okay, but I left 10 minutes before the end of the set go get a fanta and a sundae.  After feeling rejected and dejected over the WNGD, I just didn’t feel like talking to anyone even though I said a brief hi to Ben and Angie.

Anyway, that’s all I can write for now as I am feeling buggered.  I will be answering emails but cutting right down on posting to forums, news sites and networking sites.  On July 1st I will be back, and definitely a bigger and better person.  

Log in to write a note