Cosmetics

I went to the beutician today to do my bi-weekly epilation. I do it on Friday mornings which are my only free mornings during the week and I always feel a little bit bitter that I have to spend time doing a painful treatment instead of just being outside or meeting friends. But the cosmetician woman is nice and fun to talk to so I pretend to just be meeting a fried who happens to like to poke needles into my face for two hours and then take my money. I can sometimes cheat myself that way.

Lately she has sometimes mentioned that in addition to the epilation, I might want to do something about the rddening of my skin in the nose and chin area. I always nod (as much as I can while laying down with a needle stuck inti my chin) and igonre her. The reddening never bother me before she began to mention it and I had no intention of paying more money that I don’t have in order to treat it. i did end up asking a family doctor that I went to for something else, if he had any advice and he gave me the name of some cream that I can rub in. So fine, I bought it and I halfheartedly use it every fe days, and change my mind a lot regarding whether it’s making any difference.

So today the beutician asked me if I minded if she would put on some peeling cream on me while we were doing my eyebrows, just on my nose. I didnt really want to, really didn’t believe in the effect and was a bit fearful that it would do something that would do some damage even, but I said fine, what the hell. It was a very long epilation treatment and by the time she got to the eyebrows and the cream, I was pretty fed up with the whole thing and wanted to go home as quickly as poissible. Then I noticed that she was putting cream all over my face and when she askedif it wa burning and I said "a bit" she took it off and put another cream all over me and even took out this net thingy and draped it on the cream I guess to hold it in place.

At this point I started to tear up a little bit and at this point i’m trying to figure out – what exactly I was crying about? I guess I was a little fed up at all of the touching. I had signed up for an hour and a half of touching and got two hours of uncomfortable touching. It was like being way too long in a crowded elvator. You feel trapped.

I was also feeling very trapped mentally. i really didn’t want to damn cream on me yet I had let myself be tricked into getting it. I had just agreed – not really agreed – to get a bit of cream on my nose and suddenly I was here looking ridiculous like a white faced clown that got tangled in a fish net. And I was thinking – there goes my friendly arangement with my cosmetician/ Now instead of the friend I imagined I will have some coercove saleslady always trying to shove beauty products down my throat and me always having to resist and I’m not very assertive in nature so whenever I try to be assertive it ends up being rude and making a bad atmosphere. So I would have to stop doing the epilation with her because I can stand to have a salesperson working at my face with a needle. I hate being approached by any kind of salesperson anyway. I makes me feel trapped and caged in and crowded.

So I told her politely to please get the effing cream off of me, I was like, it’s not for me, please let’s get rid of it and she was like "No, please try it, see how wonderful you’re going to look" and I was like, I don;t care, I don’t want this. And she’s like "But it doesn’;t look good with the redness" And I’m like in mysmall polite voice "Yeah, wekk that’s your problem thepeople who have to see it. I see OUT of this face so I don;t give a damn how it looks, just leave me alone".

And hen I started to really cry. Because I really 0 I don’t really have any aspiration to be especially beautiful. I was born with a nice face but I don’t really work at the beauty. The detail of clothes, creams, it bores me to tears. Sport is painful and boring as well. But really – I don’t want to be an embarrasment coming out of the house. I just don’t want people to think ewwwww.

But i’m a woman, and i’m not 20 anymore. And if you don’t suffer as a not-20-any-more woman and spend all kinds of weird hours doing things to yourself, you’re going to be ewww. You’re going to be "how dare she leave the house" in the eyes of many people and really, I see how people want to look at something pretty. I’m nopt sure it’s fair to make them look at something ugly. I don’t need to be beautiful but I don’t want to be someone people feel like they have to pay a mental price to look at.

But the redness… I never had a problem with that. I never thought it was such a big deal. And I went to the butician to feel better about myself.. I wasn’t supposed to spend two hours getting poked and them leave there feeling worse, no? Part of their jb it to get me out of there feeling beutiful no matter how I really look – no?

So while I was there I  I had this vision of how my hours at the beutician and beuticians of all sorts I would have to be going to and how crowded and trapped and ugly I was going to hae to feel and how it would never be over. I would just get older and therefore even less a peace with my face while the time at the beuticians of all sorts would just get longer and longer and take up more and more of my free time and sanity.What a wasted life…

Which is when I started to cry even harder. And I told the beutician why i was crying. Not that she made me feel trapped bu aout the second part and she answered.

"Yeah… well it’s true we’re all getting older and uglier. But at least we’re not sick! You think you have problems? Some people are sick!"

Yes.

I’m not sick. My life is really at it’s peak right now. Everyone around is healthy and functioning. We all have jobs and enough money and while our country is being run by a bunch of doucebags, we are at least not currently as of  this minute the last time I checke in war, and it’s not the holocoust.

So, if I find that the task of making me appearence acceptable and a lot of other regular ife tasks to be horribly draining, much more touch that I ever though they would be or should be as a child, and I feel that I can’t cope faily often…. then how will I be able to deal if something real actually happened?

Log in to write a note
February 1, 2013

Wow, that must have been a horrible experience. I’m sure the cosmetician just wanted to push more products and treatments so she could make more money, but she was really rude about it! This is so much worse than a regular pushy salesman — she put stuff ON YOUR FACE that you didn’t want! I am just one of those “ewww” people who offends people by daring to leave the house looking like I do.

February 1, 2013

As for coping, I bet you would adjust if you had to deal with something terrible. Maybe part of the difficulty is dealing with these trivial things like having to worry about looking nice for other people. If you were fighting for your life, you’d do what you had to do (and at least you wouldn’t have bitchy salesladies telling you, “At least you’re not sick.”).

February 4, 2013

Oh what an awful experience… I think when we have things we really need to cope with, we do. But you never needed to cope with the cream…

Om
February 16, 2013

It sounds awful, really. It does. And rather than being sensitive to your issues, she turned it into this big, “Well, at least you’re not dead” type of thing. Right. One can always counter that things could be worse, but that didn’t address the issue you have with her, and it did nothing to fix the situation. And to add insult to injury, you had to PAY for this treatment. Dreadful morning! 🙁

I think we’ve all felt like that, especially as we get older. I hope you are feeling better, try not to give yourself grief about getting a little overwhelmed it happens to everyone, especially in horrible situations like that.

March 25, 2013

ryn: Well, I’m “kinda” named after her. From my understanding, using the same first letter is good enough to uphold that tradition. Her name was Dorothy. And yeah. I don’t know if it’s legitimately because that’s how it is in Arkansas or if I’m just looking for more reasons to be annoyed with this place.

April 13, 2013

RYN: I hope so. I really do.

May 7, 2013

You’re stronger than you think, sometimes it’s just the little things that can throw you off balance for a while. And…it’s your face! Touching someone’s face is incredibly personal I think, and there’s an element of trust, which she kind of broke. Not surprised it made you upset. That being said, hope things get smoother/easier soon. xx

October 1, 2013

ryn – not crazy but very rigid in what “rules” we follow. He thinks I break my own rules; I think things are situational, and we’re not making rules. To him, I didn’t help him, so I shouldn’t get the benefit of the food. To me, I didn’t help him because I deserved a break after doing all the work the night before… It’s stuff that, to me, you should just get over when you have a house full of family and are balancing entertaining, cooking, and getting some time to relax.

October 2, 2013

ryn: it’s so funny, because you’re sooooooo right. yet I’m finding myself defensive because he is mostly a good guy…. but yeah, it’s a game.

October 10, 2013

Thanks for the air B&B suggestion. I never thought of that but it looks like it could save some money.

October 14, 2013

ryn: Yes, I’m pretty fidgety and I have trouble sitting through movies. I’m more self-conscious about it when seeing plays, where I feel like I’m supposed to be on better behavior and my fidgetiness could affect the performers. I’ve read a bit more about it and I’ve found that it is similar to ADHD-PI, there’s even some overlap. SCT has some distinct differences, though don’t ask me what theyare, because I forget. I don’t know. So maybe I have one or both. Or neither, I don’t know.

February 1, 2014

ryn – I have my name reserved at Prosebox. I haven’t been there for real though.