Just a thought for the end of the day

It’s actually the wee small hours and I have made it to bed after falling asleep on the sofa. The Winter Olympics are on quietly, the light from the television illuminating the darkness. Mr has his head resting on my arm, which makes typing a bit of a challenge, so I will keep this short and sweet.

I have had a lovely day with my son. After I met him from pre school we hurried through town to catch the bus. We just made it and after a near brush with grumpy bus driver over whether the boy was young enough to be free, we trotted up the bus and settled into our seats. He has not been on a bus very often and so it still has novelty value!  It was a really lovely day to go for a mini adventure. We scanned the view outside, first the passing buildings then out into the countryside. There was a sort of pleasant wintery light on everything and our boy chattered on about all sorts; the people on the bus, the things outside, the voice that comes on telling you the stops…even the buttons that you use to call your stop. It was all fascinating to him. We played a bit of eye spy and before you know it I heard it call our stop, so I hopped up and got our boy to hurry to the front. Being a bit of a dizzy person it was only when we got off I realised we could have stayed on a bit longer…hey ho, it was a nice crisp day and I like walking with the boy, feeling his little warm hand in mine. We were actually quite early so I called on ahead and let Mr know we were on our way. It is always further than I think, but our boy did not complain about the walk at all, only a bit about it being chilly so I popped his mittens on while he worried about his book bag potentially blowing away.

We eventually arrived at Mr’s workplace and shared lunch with him. He was so happy to see us and his colleagues seemed amused by our boy, also slightly startled at how much he has grown. He had a play at his Daddy’s desk and the lunch hour was gone. Mr had to go to a meeting so the boy and I went to play by the river. I beat my all time stone skimming record, with a mighty 7… the boy saw it, but was far more interested in messing about with a stick. He was fishing for imaginary stuff, we caught a boot, a shark, fish finger sandwiches and a kebab. The boy said that was rotten and we had to throw it back. We were down there for ages but he was enjoying himself so much I didn’t feel inclined to get the bus home. After about an hour and a half we decided to go for a walk in the woods, we played hide and seek…pretended to be trains…hugged a tree. By which time we were getting chilly so I decided it was time to head back, we could get in Mr’s car and wait for him. As I was bundling the boy in his car seat out comes Mr who was finished for the day…suitably pleased look on his face since it was Friday.

We shared our afternoon stories as we headed home.

We took our boy up on his suggestion of pizza for dinner and we gave him a little present of some wooden play food which he was thrilled with since it came with a little bowl of pretend beans for the breakfast and a pot of gravy for the roast dinner!

At bedtime we all got in our boy’s bed, Mr was reading stories and the boy was hugging my head. Our boy was asking if we could do it all again tomorrow…maybe not tomorrow but soon I hope.

Billy Morgan has just won a bronze medal 🥉 for GB (snowboard big air) and on that note, I think it has been a pretty good day. 😊

 

Log in to write a note