April Flash #24

based on prompts by Haredawg:
The hare hounded by the hunt; sleep world the dreamer is rising; where in the medical temporal lobes would you find the amygdala?

“Where in the medical temporal lobes would you find the amygdala?” The professor’s voice raised high, echoing in the cavernous chamber, shaking me from my daydream. I thought. Maybe not. I saw her lying there on the table, immobile. This wasn’t right. I blinked my eyes slowly, hearing the words of the students around me, but not making sense of them, not really listening. I stared at her instead, laying there in a faded bathrobe, eyes closed. Sleeping. I smiled then, a careful twinge of emotion, hiding behind the fury of scattered thought. As I made my way through the carefully constructed knot of students to approach the table, I saw your face clearly for the first time. You looked peaceful. Peaceful but aware, somehow. I gauged the expression of the press of humanity around me, before reaching out slowly to take your hand. “Sleep, world the dreamer is rising” I muttered, under my breath, just low enough to be out of earshot. At the touch of my warm hand, your cold fingers curled around mine, and your eyes, heavily lidded with the after effects of sleep rolled open. “time to fly, love” I said, smiling genuinely for the first time. You sat up, looking around – no one was paying attention. They were having an argument or at least a heightened debate on where the locations were, where parts were fitted, unaware that their careful subject was on the move. I bolted towards the double doors, only when they crashed open, did anyone realize something was amiss. The shouts jarred us from our careful plans. We bounded down the hallway and the corridors like the hare hounded by the hunt, before crashing into the outside dreamscape, into the old beat up jeep, driven by an even older friend, flashing us a smile through lips clenched around a smoking pipe.

“Looks like ya made it” he drawled, nudging gently the sleeping pit bulls in the front seat to make room. “’bout time”

new prompts: where we started from; happenstance; sure footed and clumsy minded

Log in to write a note
April 22, 2011

Heh. Mighty mighty jeep, young beat up pits.

April 22, 2011

Heh. Mighty mighty jeep, young beat up pits.