Flash Friday

Prompt:
1) rolling home to you – haredawg
1) earthstruck – amygdala

They said it was the third star on the right and straight on till morning – neverland…some magical place where adults could live in their immaturity and never grow up. I think the aim was never grow “old”, personally – but either way. I had been sailing along these clouds for months, realizing that I could hardly stay airborn forever – that sooner or later I would have to find a landing pad – a safe place to set down – a way to become earthstruck instead of starbound. Something. I didn’t really want to. I liked the flight, liked seeing the sky from the view of the stars, high above, floating on air above the reality of what life was like below. Humans looked like ants, scurrying to and fro, wandering around aimlessly – work, school, shopping, socialization, home. What an existence. I was not always so high up off the ground – I came in close for first row examinations at times…when you wrapped me up in your arms in bed, refusing to let go even though the alarm on both of our phones was going off. “another five minutes” you’d mumble, and I’d nuzzle back into the hollow between your cheek and your shoulder, nodding my head and mumbling a careful, not the least bit argumentative assent. Together, we created heat – waves of it, rolling off our skin like oven blasts, sweat pooling in the hollows of our bellies, in the curve of our shoulderbones, in the hollow at the small of our backs when we rolled over. I came rolling home to you slowly for these moments, hurdling through the reality of the walls of the world to come crashing into your living room, sweeping you up in my arms like you were a card-house, perched precariously waiting for a wayward stroke of wind – and my breath was usually more than enough to send you toppling over in a heap and fit of laughter, as we’d tumble together, playfully wrestling around on of our beds. It’s a good thing they rested on the floor – lot less far to fall that way.

I knew I couldn’t stay up here forever. I know that sooner or later the reality would come crashing in….what I didn’t know was that reality was enough to leave me breathless –
That coming back to reality was just like living the dream. That real life with you was every bit as enjoyable as our stolen moments together. We carried boxes from one small room to another, stealing glances among friends. I hardly dared to believe then that this feeling would last forever…but it did. I could talk about what happened after the great life smash – when we spent every day laughing, curled up in front of the tv – looking at pets…dogs…deli-sandwiches. But I’m not one for spoiling surprises, and I have too much riding on this to bring you to the real before you’re ready. I had to find it on my own, and soon you’ll know.

I always was afraid of neverland, really – content to realize it meant I would never find something so simple, so beautiful – a love so true that it could transcend the past histories that had plagued us both. In reality, neverland was when this was going to end….never. A distant thought that had no place, among the real.

Log in to write a note
May 7, 2011

Heh, that’s so damn cute, you’ve got it bad.

May 7, 2011

Heh, that’s so damn cute, you’ve got it bad.