Hello, New Year.

I’m feeling a strange sense of dedication, commitment and drive lately.  It’s not the typical “it’s a new-year-new-you” feeling that is going to wear off in another week or so.  The three week break from school was invigorating, and classes started up again yesterday.  I’ve committed to staying ahead of the work so that I can take some time off at the end of the week, instead of taking time at the beginning and then scrambling as due dates loom closer.  I’ve never been a procrastinator, but last term was rough in terms of time management, and I know I can do better this term, especially since I now know what to expect from taking two classes simultaneously.  +

We got a new kitten shortly before Christmas – i blame Leighann.  She wanted us to go to PetSmart to take a look at a kitten that she wanted to get for Grace for Christmas, and while we were there, we fell in love with a different kitten.  His name is Zuri (after a character in Black Panther cause we’re nerds) and he’s pitch black – so much so that at times he’s difficult to see.  He reminds me so much of Booger Wicket sometimes – he’s incredibly smart, and has figured out how to open a closed door like she did and to escape from his ‘kitten jail’ – the second bedroom he stays in during the day while he and Weasley acclimate to each other more.  We’ve been letting them both out together every evening, and they were out together almost all weekend with few incidents except for a single smack in the face – but he kind of had that one coming.  There are still a few hisses and growls from Weasley toward Zuri, but that’s to be expected.  She’s not aggressive, just scared – and poor Zuri just wants so desperately to be her friend.

Other than that, there hasn’t been much new going on in my life.  The holidays were great, but I’ve had a cold that has lasted for 3 1/2 weeks now and a cough that just won’t quit.  I’ll sure be happy when it finally decides to leave me alone and I can start breathing normally again.

 

Log in to write a note