meanings

When I say that you
light up my life
I don’t mean that
everything was dark
without you.

I mean that the darkness
was a comfort
a blanket that wrapped me up
and kept me continually warm
until I realized what warmth was.

When accustomed to the
black of night
you see stars as faraway pinpricks
future goals that are as yet
unattainable. Distant.

Not that I had no concept of light.
I knew what it was
heard it spoken of
understood the concept and
longed for the reality.

When you appeared you just
let me in on the secret that
darkness and light coexist –
that we breathe the same air
and inhabit the same surface.

I give you shade from the
glaring light of day that
acts like a spotlight,
illuminating things that you would rather
keep hidden.
Keep Safe.

You light up the world and let me
see the beauty of color
the full spectrum of reality
and the hidden meaning behind
secrets I never imagined.

When I say you are my sunshine,
I mean that you’ve lit up my heart
and given me the freedom to fly
without chaining me to the ground.
Loving you is perfectly imperfect
and we can both learn to sleep
to understand
to see, to shelter
to grow, together.

Log in to write a note
October 17, 2012

Aww, sweet. Cut and pasted from an entry; So here’s the prompts from me (I’ll also note them to the parties I know are interested) and in deference to the return of the prodigal daughter these are one word prompts to keep from “leading the witness, your honor”; Fruition, Shorn, reciprocate.

October 17, 2012

Aww, sweet. Cut and pasted from an entry; So here’s the prompts from me (I’ll also note them to the parties I know are interested) and in deference to the return of the prodigal daughter these are one word prompts to keep from “leading the witness, your honor”; Fruition, Shorn, reciprocate.