My Christmas Angel

you sleep, snuggled, next to me on the couch
your arm draped around me like a blanket
your soft snores tickling the back of my neck.
You smell like chocolate and cookies
(that I could have sworn were supposed to be for santa)

You made a house a home,
put together a tree and lit it up with
love and laughter.
You smuggled the cat into a stocking
perfect for prime photo opportunities
and made a point to
rub my arm
whisper that you love me
and tell me that everything was perfect and beautiful.

The truth is that every day with you is a holiday
and I hardly need an excuse to
fall and worship.

Although your halo is slightly askew
and your wings have caused untold injuries
as we toss and turn,
laugh and giggle,
you’re my christmas angel
and I wouldn’t try a day in my life with you
for all of the presents in the world.

This work by JMcFarland is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

 

 

creative commons license

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

more » HubPages

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!