NJM 14 – hope and change

I have to admit, I’m starting to get nervous about the new job. I’ve had eight years of familiarity with the job I’m leaving behind, and starting over at the bottom is always a daunting process – especially to people like me with anxiety. I’m not really worried about being able to do the job – I know I can. I’m worried about meeting my co-workers, the training process, fitting in, acclimating – all sorts of stuff.

The benefits, however, are astronomical. The pay is several dollars more an hour than I’m making now, and the environment is absolutely amazing. Not only do I get to wander around a building full of priceless art, I get to be a part of a culture that values giving back to the community, encouraging employee growth and overall service.

I’m hopeful, but tentative.

And wouldn’t you know it – as soon as I accepted the job, I got another offer from another place I applied. I politely declined. This is truly the opportunity of a lifetime, and I can’t wait to get started.

In the meantime, however, I will enjoy sitting in the mail room, listening to music and playing around for 50% of the day. I’m good.

This work by JMcFarland is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

 

 

creative commons license

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

more » HubPages

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note