NJM 9 -Flash Friday, a Bit late

prompts: I’m already halfway gone
He came by the way that he walked
45 dyes her hair pink

“The truth of the matter is that by the time you get the note, I’m already halfway gone” he says, trembling in his boots while delivering a devilish ultimatum. That’s the beauty of this kind of breakup – you don’ actually have to stand there face to face and watch someone else get hurt.

I cocked my head to the side inquisitively and hoped I wasn’t betraying my feelings by the disgust on my face. “But why do it at all? It sounds like the coward’s way out, if you ask me”

“So maybe I’m a coward. I just can’t do this anymore. It’s not the same as it used to be”

“people change, dude. YOU changed”

“nah, man , you just don’t understand. She used to be hot, man. She was this striking natural beauty that didn’t need makeup or a fancy dress to distract you from her face. When she got older, I figured it out, man. I figured out that 45 dyes her hair pink to take the focus off the rest of her, and that 37 wears dark fabric to balance out her figure.”

“they have names you know. And it’s not like you’re the epitome of manhood. That beer belly didn’t drink itself into existence.”

His eyes flashed anger for the briefest of moments before the outright denial kicked in and took over.
“fuck that. What do you know? You’ve been with the same broad for years”

“there’s a reason for that” I muttered under my breath. I shook my head and recognized a lost cause just a bit too late. He came by the way that he walked – a fake swagger that oozed confidence – and ignorance.

Some people will just never learn.

/>

This work by JMcFarland is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

 

 

creative commons license

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

more » HubPages

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note