vent/rant

Okay, here’s the thing.

If you want me to do my job, why don’t you shut up and do yours first?

I am having an irritating day. I feel the need to vent, slightly.

Dear Co-worker in my department:

Why is it that you seem absolutely incapable of doing your job with your mouth closed? You burp, curse, and speak loudly for 90% of the time during the day that you’re actually at your desk and not chain smoking and badmouthing everybody downstairs. You have broken 6 date stamps by slamming them too hard – and for some reason, your’e allowed to get away with things that no one else would dream of. I don’t know how you do it. But please, for the sake of my sanity, since I can hear your belching and cursing OVER top volume on my headphones, and your constant whining and complaining about your job does nothing to make the rest of ours any easier – please just shut up.

Dear Co-worker OUT of my department:

I understand that you feel as if your requests and your issues are the most important thing in the world. Here’s the thing though – they’re not important to anybody but you. getting off your butt and walking an extra 5 STEPS to a secondary printer would do you a world of good in terms of excercise. For the record, I have a 24 hour turn around time for printer service requests – for all facility requests in general, actually. Not the hour you think I should have. Sending 7 emails, plus 2 more emails to my boss, plus instant messaging me asking about the status does nothing to make your request any more important, or make me get to it any faster – in fact, I would say that it has the reverse effect. Every time you email me or spark me or talk to my boss and go over my head, your request returns to the bottom of the pile where it belongs. Just because it is a request from YOU does not make it any one else’s priorty. No users are down. No work is on hold. There are 5 other printers in your area. Use one of them, walk a little further and do what everyone else in the office has to do. I’ll get to it.

Dear wife’s best friend:

When someone spends over 10 minutes trying to get off the phone with you so they can go eat their dinner, not only is it not appropriate to keep them on the phone for an additional 10 minutes discussing family drama, paint samples or stupid opinions that have nothing to dowith the person you’re talking to, but it is EVEN MORE inappropriate to eventually let them off the phone after numerous attempts, only to CALL THEM BACK after less than five minutes. It is not only rude, but blatantly disrespectful of someone you claim to love, AND THEIR PARTNER (me). What is WRONG with you? Are you really THAT arrogant and self centered, or are you just simply oblivious to others? Do you listen to ANYTHING she says?

Log in to write a note

The last one sounds like my sister-in-law. She could talk someone to death. Not much longer now until the wedding!

The last one sounds like my sister-in-law. She could talk someone to death. Not much longer now until the wedding!