Stable mood

The First Hour

 

Mood: Stable

When I go to sleep at night, I say my evening prayers and then wait to fall asleep, which doesn’t take long. But it’s not always sleep. It’s like I’m drifting in and out of sleep. It often happens that I feel a mild seizure-like experience and I don’t know what’s causing it. I’m thinking it’s not seizures but chills. I definitely need to talk to my doctor about this, but it’s my respiratory doctor that I want to talk to. I have an appointment with her the first week of August, but I shouldn’t wait that long. My guess is that she’ll order a sleep study. I know that sleep studies can be done in one’s home, and that’s what I would prefer. But she may direct me to a sleep clinic. I sleep in my recliner and cannot sleep in a bed. It frightens me if I try to sleep in a bed. In fact, when I had my bladder surgery years ago, I told my daughter to let the doctor know that I needed to be sitting up as I came out of the anesthesia, which he did. I can’t remember what happened when I was in the hospital with pneumonia in April of 2022.

On Sunday morning, I checked my oxygen concentrator and found it slightly below the 2-liter mark so I made the necessary adjustment. I was hoping that this was the problem but it wasn’t because I had an episode last night.

Now I’m wondering if it’s because I’m chilled even though I use a blanket. Tonight I’m going to try to use two blankets. I should also adjust my thermostat and bring the temperature up. Could it be that I’m chilled?

When I noticed that I was having an episode last night, I got out of my recliner immediately and went out onto my patio for a short while. It always happens that when I go back to sleep, I fall asleep for the rest of the night. I wonder why this does the trick. Could it be that I’m going to sleep too early? I usually go to sleep at 9:00 P.M. If I have an episode, it could be as late as 11:30 P.M. that I actually fall asleep for the night. Whatever is going on, I want to know why. But I want to try different approaches to sleep before I see my doctor. I want to get to the bottom of this on my own.

These episodes usually happen three times per week. Tonight, I’m going to add another blanket and adjust my thermostat. Let’s hope that this helps.

May is here. I have a lot going on this month: my daughter’s birthday, my youngest sister’s birthday, my granddaughter’s high school graduation, and my daughter and her husband are expected to close on the home in Vermont. My daughter said that if the closing goes well, they plan to move the first week in June. How often will I see them after that? I know they will be flying down here regularly because they have a business here that they intend to keep. If I complain about not seeing her as often as I want now, what will it be like once they move? Will they stop in when they fly down here? Who knows?

This morning, I plan to watch some CNN and MSNBC. Later, I plan to watch my Netflix shows which will bring me up to bedtime. I believe it’s going to be a good day.

Log in to write a note
May 13, 2023

A sleep study would be a good idea. Also if you’re on a concentrator and you have a long hose, the longer the hose is, the less oxygen comes out at the end. So if you’re on 2 liters but you have a 50 foot cord you might not be getting 2 liters at the cannula.

May 13, 2023

Where are you from? Do you got google chats ? What’s your email? Mines ssstephaniespotloesss@gmail.com