Theme of the week

  • Enjoyable days – I’ve made a point of enjoying my life, of filling it with enjoyable days and to find the enjoyment in those days which are less than perfect.

Obviously not everything is in my control, at the moment there are several things that I find incredibly frustrating; infuriating even. But those are things I need to change and are to be written about in friends only posts.

What I’m trying to do is whittle the memories down in order to choose one day.

Just one.

You see, I could tell you about the positives of today. I could tell you of success at work (except for confidentiality clauses in contracts). My jobs (apart from a stint picking potatoes in 1991) have all had confidentiality clauses.

So – to pick one day? I’m going to go for a little over a year ago. My older daughter (aged 11 at the time) and I did a high rope course through a local wood, similar to Go Ape. As a NICAS level 3+ climber, she had no fear of heights nor harnesses. At the safety briefing I was told not to worry about her and if she got stuck they would help – daughter and I laughed, oh how we laughed, “If anyone needs help it’ll be me!!” I said.

Daughter went first, she led the way and BOY it was high. Some of the obstacles were fun and some terrifying but each time she would manoeuvre across the ropes, stop and tell me exactly what to do to make it over. Following her instructions exactly got me over safely.

It took us two hours to get around. Two hours of fun, exercise and time together.

Another great day, February last year. I got my most recent tattoo. I knew what I wanted (a daisy) and the style (watercolor). I had done research of watercolor tattoo artists and finally found the one I wanted. She is based at the diametrically opposite end of this country and has a waiting list that is months long. But I wanted that tattoo. So I booked in, for seven months later, organised to stay with my dad who lives nearer to her than I do and waited.

Well, not literally. I didn’t spend seven months staring at a clock…

It was about an hour and a half from my dad’s, in a tattoo shop on the seafront in a run down north eastern town, I parked at a supermarket and walked through the town. I was a little early so I walked along the beach, taking a video of the gentle, relaxing water as it tickled the sand.

I don’t often get time just to myself and I crave it sometimes, this was the perfect half hour.

The tattooist had her own little room and we spent a couple of hours just chatting while she inked my arm.

This is a screenshot of her instagram page with my tattoo.

Afterwards i meandered back to the car and drove back to my dad’s house, local radio playing and happiness in my soul.

Log in to write a note
May 1, 2018

I love that tattoo,

💗

May 4, 2018

Watercolour tattoos are my fave. Still love yours!

May 14, 2018

😊