NoJoMo 3: Open Studios

Last night my studio building had their annual Open Studios event. It was really awesome. There are probably 100 studios in the building — photographers, designers, painters, sculptors, clothing designers — and most of them were open to the public, with food and music and lots of great conversation. I got to hang out with my studiomates, a lot of people walked through and loved my work, a lot of women took my cards, we listened to some really great music, I learned about a cool local classical music monthly get together… it was really great.
There’s a corset seller two floors down from me, and we’ve tweeted back and forth a couple times. Ryan went and talked to them a little early in the evening, then later in the evening I stole some time to go chat with them. I tried on a black leather underbust that was freaking perfect in every day, I got to touch a lot of their products (absolutely beautiful), and I met the owner and studio manager. They were lovely people. And the best news of the weekend: they’re considering finding a local photographer. Their current photographer is based in California, so they have to ship all of their stuff down there. But for one-offs, or returns, it’s not really worth doing that, but they’re harder to sell without photos. They told me to let them know if I ever want to borrow anything for a client, and I’m going to try to set up a time to chat with them later this week about working with them.

It’s the most hope I’ve had in a long while.

Log in to write a note

I will not believe the corset stuff until I see pictures. *wink* *wink* Wishing you all the best. The Open Studios event sounds AWESOME! *HUG*

I will not believe the corset stuff until I see pictures. *wink* *wink* Wishing you all the best. The Open Studios event sounds AWESOME! *HUG*

I will not believe the corset stuff until I see pictures. *wink* *wink* Wishing you all the best. The Open Studios event sounds AWESOME! *HUG*

!!!! GENIUS idea for getting everyone in the building together & to see who’s all there! Have you gotten any inquiries since?!