Everyone’s Therapist

Hello Everyone,

So, lately, I have become the therapist for everyone around me. A bit of background about me, I live alone cuz I prefer books to drama and issues as I have a lot of those at work on daily basis. And now, everyone at the office just calls to talk about their personal issues. Anyone knows how I can get out of this? I’m not saying I don’t want to be a friend but doing this all the time I now need my own therapist.

Any thoughts?

Log in to write a note
March 29, 2022

Good day!

So, I’m rather similar most days.  It’s something innate in people who are compassionate and empathic.  I can’t really give a ton of advice (and what I might have may be considered platitude type) but you can choose to ignore it for a while.  That said, it’s pretty hard to ignore the drive to help, like you’re pushing away something that’s a part of you.  It’s also a (mostly) thankless job, even though it’s not really a job.

I’d suggest to politely Just Say No.  You’re busy or you’re busy or you’re asleep…though that last one might not work during the daytime…LOL

Welcome to OD.

FE
March 31, 2022

@tigerhawk I totally agree, sometimes it’s really hard to turn off empathy to others. I have tried following your sound advise and it’s worked well today, I was very busy and people saw that and tried to keep the conversation to a minimum. Thank you, I can now enjoy reading my books in whatever free times I’m left with.

April 4, 2022

@fatimae86 – Yay!  Glad something worked for you, especially if you just needed some YouTime to decompress and recover.

February 14, 2023

Conflict between your value for empathy and value for privacy?

Our vulnerabilities are often our greatest strengths running unbridled  :o)