Judgment and Jealousy

So, you’ve seen the big picture window in my office that I mentioned often distracts me during my work day?  Today, I was taking a break from work, browsing through OD and a random sampling of photography articles, and something outside caught my eye.  We don’t get strangers in our neighborhood very often.  We occasionally get the misguided driver who’s taken a wrong turn onto our dead-end street, but for the most part we just see the usual suspects walking their dogs, riding bikes, and taking their kids for a stroll.  Well, today I saw someone that was certainly suspect.

Our house is right at the end of the cul-de-sac, so I can see straight down the entire length of our road.  An unfamiliar man popped out of one of the side streets on foot, walking slowly and peering at everyone’s houses.  He was a large, burly man, with gray hair and bushy beard.  He kind of looked like a biker, like he should be wearing a leather vest and boots and sitting on the back of a custom cruiser.  He could have definitely been considered intimidating.

I sometimes feel like the neighborhood watch.  I mean, I’m home all day long, I have a perfect view of every single neighbor’s house, and by nature, I’m always on the lookout for anything that just might not be right.  I watched as the man strolled down the middle of the road, heading in my direction.  I didn’t think too much of it… until he veered into my neighbor’s yard across the street.  He walked up to her back fence, looked over both shoulders, then peered over the privacy boards.  I sprung from my chair to get a closer look at him through the window.  I mentally noted what he was wearing, how tall he might be, how long his hair and beard was.  He made his way back to the street and continued around the bend.  Just as I lost site of him around Chuck’s truck in the drive, I heard him call out a name…

… and then I saw a little chihuahua pop out into the street a ways down the road.

I felt so stupid.  I didn’t used to be so judgmental, especially based on appearances.  The man had not yet noticed his little dog, so in an attempt to make things right with the world once again, I took my happy, unkempt, unshowered ass (no seriously, I looked gross) right out into the street and introduced myself to… my new neighbor.  He was super friendly and talkative, and he walked right up and shook my dirty hand.  He and his wife just moved into the neighborhood a month or so ago.  We chatted for a few minutes, I pointed him in the direction of his lost little dog, and I watched as he scooped her up and headed back inside his new house.

God, I felt like a jackass.

In other news, I’m having a fit of jealousy right now.  As I mentioned yesterday, Chuck is in New Jersey on a business trip.  Well, the unit he was teaching wrapped up a day early, and he doesn’t fly home until tomorrow.  He basically had a free day to do some sight seeing.  So where does he go?  Manhattan.  That bastard.  Though it is kind of funny if you know Chuck.  I mean, the boy is adventurous, but put him in an airplane or piled up traffic and he freaks the fuck out.  He actually has a prescription for anxiety medication because he panics so bad.  What in the hell made him think driving in New York City was a good idea, I’ll never know.

He’s called and messaged periodically throughout the day.  So far, he’s seen the Statue of Liberty, the Sears Tower, and Times Square; he’s visited the theater district; and he’s drank a pint of Guinness in every historical Irish pub that I could find on Google, including one called Hurley’s.  In fact, at this very moment, he’s at Paddy Reilly’s, the pub featured on Ghost Hunters this past St. Patrick’s Day.  He even somehow convinced the staff to take him into the basement to show him all the ‘haunted’ areas.

And wouldn’t you know that he didn’t take a camera?  I mean, what in the world would he need a camera for in Ft. Dix, NJ?  At least his iPhone takes pretty clear pictures.  He’s been snapping away, and sending me the good ones.  I so wish I was there to experience it all with him!

Ah, well.  Another time perhaps.

Cheers!
Felina

Log in to write a note
April 8, 2010

I think we can all a bit judgmental at times, first impressions can throw things off, ya know? I would have probably called 911 myself lol. I have some anxiety and i can’t imagine driving in NYC, it’s one of my fav places ever but the cabbies are the worst port in my opinion, they will stop within an inch of hitting someone lol.

April 9, 2010

I would have had the exact same reaction if I saw somebody peering into everyone’s yards. No matter what they looked like.

April 9, 2010

I would have thought the same thing about a unfamiliar person in the neighborhood.

April 9, 2010

ryn: Hey Felina. Ah, fellow fattie! Painful journey, really. Cottage cheese? Seriously, i don’t know where the skinny people get these terms? I mean, one of the heavy people at my business school (a guy) was called The Fat Bastard! This is the height of rudeness. I am working more to improve and add to that entry. Loads is unsaid

April 9, 2010

We moved into a new home. I am on a trip out of the country these days, and when I reach home I bet I would be doing a lot of window-watching myself. We’d be window-watchers together!

April 9, 2010

Hey at least you went over and introduced yourself. That was cool of you 🙂

April 9, 2010

I would love for you to be my neighbor lol. Actually my neighbor Helen is kind of like that and it makes me feel better that if anything were to happen someone could tell the police you know? If I saw a man peer into my neighbor’s fence I’d be judgemental too so don’t feel bad. Glad you helped him find his dog in the end :). I’m jealous of Chuck too haha.

April 10, 2010

After spending time in the Green Zone, I would think perhaps you would be a bit more paranoid than most. It is to be expected and takes a while for that to pass.

April 10, 2010

Being the neighborhood watch isn’t a bad thing. I would appreciate knowing that I had neighbors that would look out for us. You’re better than I am, because even though I’d feeel bad, I wouldn’t have gone out. Dang my shyness. I’ve got to get over it!